![]() |
Was asked a question by one of our senior officials tonight. With .3 on the clock a throw in is tipped by the defence and the ball goes in the basket. Would you count the basket as it was tipped by the defence and not tapped by the offence? He seemed to think it was not a try so it wouldn't count. I felt it was a live ball that was in play when touched by a player on the court and would count even though the offence didn't tap it for a try. What do you all say.
|
No basket. Since its not a try the ball will be become dead when the horn sounds (ball in the air).
|
Good answer Snake~eyes. Thanks
|
Agree with Snake-Eyes. The defensive tip is a dead ball on the horn.
Your question doesn't really say for sure, but if the ball isn't through the basket when the horn goes off, it doesn't count. If the ball is through the basket before the horn(unlikely), it does count. If it is counted, it gets credited to the other <b>team</b>. Iow, same answer as the NFHS forum, Ed. :) |
next question. If the horn goes off and the ball is inside the basket and the defender was the one who tipped it, do we count it?
|
Also, if the thrower-in were to get the ball in the basket WITHOUT defense tipping it, which it sounds like might have happened, that's a violation, anyway. So the basket wouldn't have counted in any case.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
mick |
If offense tipped it, its a try and can count
If its a try, the game isn't over until the shot is over even if it is in the air and not through the net when the horn goes off. If the defense tips it, it is not a "try" and the ball is dead when the horn goes off.
Similar case on someone shooting at the wrong basket, gets fouled, then the ball goes in. The basket doesn't count because it was not a try and the ball is dead as soon as the foul occurs. |
Quote:
So in the case it gets stuck it counts. By extension I would count a basket once the ball enters it if the horn goes off on a non-try. |
Quote:
If the timing was menat to be otherwise, the wording would be, "A goal is made when a live ball remains in or passes through the basket from above." Of course, I'm "certain" that this case wasn't considered when the specific words were written. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks. mick |
Quote:
I consider the net part of the goal and so if a player dunks the ball and it hits him in the head without clearing the net and go back up through the goal I would consider that as NOT remaining in the goal and just let play continue. |
Quote:
But, is the timing such that the ball must be determined to remain in or pass through before the buzzer in order to count? OR, must it merely enter before the buzzer and then remain in or pass through? That's the question in this thread. |
Quote:
|
You're right. Sorry.
|
Quote:
On that Rip Hamilton play, didn't they stop play on that one too because of the offensive BI? I thought it was the same call under NBA rules, but.... I really don't know the NBA rules worth a damn. |
Yes they did stop play. I just mispoke when I said let play continue. I guess I should say i mistyped
|
Quote:
[Mind you I do not think I can really distinguish between a ball in the basket and having passed through anyway!] |
Quote:
[Mind you I do not think I can really distinguish between a ball in the basket and having passed through anyway!] [/B][/QUOTE]Are you saying that you <b>wouldn't</b> call BI in the sitch where the ball struck a dunker's head while the ball was still within the net and the ball then came back out? :confused: |
Quote:
No I said I would not count the basket because the ball did not pass through or stay in. Whether this is BI or not is another topic. (There is an exception to BI that dunking or stuffing does not qualify as BI. It is debateable whether hitting your own head would qualify for the exception or not. However, I do not think we should get off topic.) |
Quote:
Rip Hamilton's play was BI in the NBA, and would also be BI in NCAA/FED. |
Quote:
The philosophy of the exception comes at the end with the words "Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference." Since these words are in there, it is clear that the intention of the exception should perhaps go beyond contact with the hand. This means IMO that the exception does not cover interesting situations like the one of the head and so it would be an interesting debate to discuss the intention of the exception versus what happened. One could argue that any contact with the body that is part of the dunk is allowable including hitting your own head. One could also argue that the head was contacted after the ball entered and the basket and so it should be treated differently than contact before. Of course if you respond to this with further arguments about it being BI then you will have to admit that it is debateable since you will be in fact debating it. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58am. |