The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   free throw admin... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24149-free-throw-admin.html)

ChuckElias Thu Jan 12, 2006 08:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.

I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.

I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.

Agreed. 4-4-7b " A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is ... caught by a player after it is bounced to him or her."


Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.

I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.

Sigh. L'il comprehension problem today?

I'm referring to <b>your</b> answers of 8:27 & 9:55am yesterday. You know, where <b>you</b> said it would be a "T" if the FT shooter was already in the semicircle and then left before the ball was in their possession or at their disposal. Isn't that play completely different than a play where a FT shooter was <b>never</b> in the semicircle in the first place- which happened in the case play that the new guy cited?

ChuckElias Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
<b>you</b> said it would be a "T" if the FT shooter was already in the semicircle and then left before the ball was in their possession or at their disposal. Isn't that play completely different than a play where a FT shooter was <b>never</b> in the semicircle in the first place- which happened in the case play that the new guy cited?
Why would it be different? The official is ready to administer the FT, and the FT shooter is not in the circle. What difference does it make if she was in there and left or if she was never in there? :confused:

[Edited by ChuckElias on Jan 12th, 2006 at 09:42 AM]

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:28am

Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.

ChuckElias Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.
Hmmm, that sounds half-hearted. Do I win b/c you think I'm right, or b/c I'm so off-base you can't be bothered?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.
Hmmm, that sounds half-hearted. Do I win b/c you think I'm right, or b/c I'm so off-base you can't be bothered?

Yes.

No.

The point I was trying to make wasn't worth making.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1