The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Confession Time - Correctible Errors (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23929-confession-time-correctible-errors.html)

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 28, 2005 07:41pm

I've had 9 years' experience on the scorebook and on this board, sorting out correctible errors. Thought I had the rule cold - until tonight.

Girls' JV, and the scorekeeper was an easily distracted varsity player (first foul I reported, she was talking on her cell phone). With 2 minutes left in the 4th quarter, I call a foul (B1 fouled A1) during rebounding action, and the scorekeeper tells me it's 1-and-1.

I thought it was a bit odd (we didn't have a ton of fouls), but I tend to trust my scorekeepers (mistake #1!), so we awarded the 1-and-1, A1 misses the first shot. B rebounds, is coming upcourt when the scorer has me come over.

Ok . . . unmerited free-throw, change in team posession, cancel the shot and all activity, clock doesn't get reset, ball goes back to the POI. No problem - EXCEPT - my brain somehow thought that POI would mean A getting the ball back instead of the point at which the game was interrupted to correct the error. :eek:

At least I know the rule now (and how to correctly apply it). Also, I was at least somewhat convincing to the coaches.

Best part - the scorer told me that her coach told her to keep track and tell the refs when there were 7 team fouls. Unfortunately, the coach failed to mention that it was per half.

rainmaker Thu Dec 29, 2005 06:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I've had 9 years' experience on the scorebook and on this board, sorting out correctible errors. Thought I had the rule cold - until tonight.

Girls' JV, and the scorekeeper was an easily distracted varsity player (first foul I reported, she was talking on her cell phone). With 2 minutes left in the 4th quarter, I call a foul (B1 fouled A1) during rebounding action, and the scorekeeper tells me it's 1-and-1.

I thought it was a bit odd (we didn't have a ton of fouls), but I tend to trust my scorekeepers (mistake #1!), so we awarded the 1-and-1, A1 misses the first shot. B rebounds, is coming upcourt when the scorer has me come over.

Ok . . . unmerited free-throw, change in team posession, cancel the shot and all activity, clock doesn't get reset, ball goes back to the POI. No problem - EXCEPT - my brain somehow thought that POI would mean A getting the ball back instead of the point at which the game was interrupted to correct the error. :eek:

At least I know the rule now (and how to correctly apply it). Also, I was at least somewhat convincing to the coaches.

Best part - the scorer told me that her coach told her to keep track and tell the refs when there were 7 team fouls. Unfortunately, the coach failed to mention that it was per half.

She's a varsity player and she didn't know about the team foul count? She's worse than distractible, she's downright stupid.

If that's the worst correctible error error you ever make, you're a hero!! Thank goodness it wasn't a State Tournament game, and forget it.

stripes Thu Dec 29, 2005 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I've had 9 years' experience on the scorebook and on this board, sorting out correctible errors. Thought I had the rule cold - until tonight.

Girls' JV, and the scorekeeper was an easily distracted varsity player (first foul I reported, she was talking on her cell phone). With 2 minutes left in the 4th quarter, I call a foul (B1 fouled A1) during rebounding action, and the scorekeeper tells me it's 1-and-1.

I thought it was a bit odd (we didn't have a ton of fouls), but I tend to trust my scorekeepers (mistake #1!), so we awarded the 1-and-1, A1 misses the first shot. B rebounds, is coming upcourt when the scorer has me come over.

Ok . . . unmerited free-throw, change in team posession, cancel the shot and all activity, clock doesn't get reset, ball goes back to the POI. No problem - EXCEPT - my brain somehow thought that POI would mean A getting the ball back instead of the point at which the game was interrupted to correct the error. :eek:

At least I know the rule now (and how to correctly apply it). Also, I was at least somewhat convincing to the coaches.

Best part - the scorer told me that her coach told her to keep track and tell the refs when there were 7 team fouls. Unfortunately, the coach failed to mention that it was per half.

She's a varsity player and she didn't know about the team foul count? She's worse than distractible, she's downright stupid.

If that's the worst correctible error error you ever make, you're a hero!! Thank goodness it wasn't a State Tournament game, and forget it.

I think you are giving the girl too much credit. She is a high schooler who happens to play on the V team. That doesn't mean that the phone call or other distraction isn't more important to her. It doesn't make her, IMO, stupid. The biggest problem for me is that the team didn't put someone responsible on the book. The team (or game admin) is the one who needs to be questioned.

Dan_ref Fri Dec 30, 2005 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I thought it was a bit odd (we didn't have a ton of fouls), but I tend to trust my scorekeepers (mistake #1!), so we awarded the 1-and-1,
Don't leave your game at the table.

ChuckElias Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Don't leave your game at the table.
Hmmm, where have I heard that $500 piece of advice before. . .?

Mark Dexter Sat Dec 31, 2005 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Don't leave your game at the table.
Hmmm, where have I heard that $500 piece of advice before. . .?

In the . . . wait for it . . . SEC?

ChuckElias Sat Dec 31, 2005 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Don't leave your game at the table.
Hmmm, where have I heard that $500 piece of advice before. . .?

In the . . . wait for it . . . SEC?

Nah, wrong thread. Besides, Dan and I have never been to an SEC camp together.

Dan_ref Sun Jan 01, 2006 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Don't leave your game at the table.
Hmmm, where have I heard that $500 piece of advice before. . .?

He charged you $500!!???

:p

TriggerMN Sun Jan 01, 2006 04:12pm

You should have dumped her from the table crew the moment you saw her on the cell phone. Problem solved.

TravelinMan Sun Jan 01, 2006 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
You should have dumped her from the table crew the moment you saw her on the cell phone. Problem solved.
Or you could just tell her to turn her cell phone off until the game is over. If she has a problem with that, then replace her ASAP.

Mark Dexter Sun Jan 01, 2006 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
You should have dumped her from the table crew the moment you saw her on the cell phone. Problem solved.
Or you could just tell her to turn her cell phone off until the game is over. If she has a problem with that, then replace her ASAP.

She actually wasn't too bad. When I went over to report the foul, I just kinda gave her "the look." Problem solved.

TriggerMN Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:30pm

You must have one good look!

Nevadaref Mon Jan 02, 2006 04:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
She actually wasn't too bad. When I went over to report the foul, I just kinda gave her "the look." Problem solved.
You should be careful how you characterize her and how you look at her. You just got out of college and she is a high schooler! :eek:

ChuckElias Mon Jan 02, 2006 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Don't leave your game at the table.
Hmmm, where have I heard that $500 piece of advice before. . .?

He charged you $500!!???

Actually, I got the discount for returning campers. It was only $495 this year. :)

Chris Whitten Sat May 19, 2012 07:33am

Maybe my rule application logic is the same as the OP used, but shouldn't A get the ball? A1 was fouled and should have gotten the ball for a throw-in instead of shooting the 1 and 1. The spirit of the Correctable Error rule is to get it right. Why wouldn't A get the ball?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1