The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member

I am a rookie ref. I have read a number of threads that discuss the need for refs to be outfitted appropriately (collarless shirt, beltless pants, etc.). What about shoes? Is it "politically incorrect" to wear a pair of black Nike Shox that have a bit of silver/gray showing, especially in the heal-shox area? Or, is ALL black the only way for the "in" ref to deck him/herself out?
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by lmeadski
I am a rookie ref. I have read a number of threads that discuss the need for refs to be outfitted appropriately (collarless shirt, beltless pants, etc.). What about shoes? Is it "politically incorrect" to wear a pair of black Nike Shox that have a bit of silver/gray showing, especially in the heal-shox area? Or, is ALL black the only way for the "in" ref to deck him/herself out?
Unless you're only doing less than JH ball, I'd get the right shoes.

The best bet is to ask others with whom you will be working.
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member

That's the issue

I see sum with all black, i see sum with a mixture. This includes HS varsity. Our local association recommends, does not require, all/as much black as possible. I like shox because they are SO comfortable. However, i wont mind ponying up for a new pair. Just wonder what the "enlightened" thought about this. I still say it should be "substance over style" if one had to choose.
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member

All black. We don't have anyone in our association with anything but all black. It gives you a more professional appearance. It's the only "uniform" look you can have as a crew.
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member

Re: That's the issue

Quote: