The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Dec 19, 2005, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member

Friday night I was the U1 in a 3 man-crew in a highschool game. I have been working since 1978 and have seen many things.. This one was difficult. White team did not have a #33 in the official book when they sent him to the game in the 1st QTR. He was beckoned onto the floor. Right before play was to resume, the official scorer beckoned the U2 offiical over (who was closest to the scorer's bench) told him of the situation. He relayed the information to the R who said it was to late to penalize the White team since we beckoned him on the floor an he is now legally in the game. The U2 tried to tell him that it was a T. The R said no way and that he was wrong. The coach of the BLue team was irate at the R for not calling the T. They both were having words. I stepped in and borke the ferbal argument up. I took the Raside asked him what happened he told me. I told him that it is a T and the coach and the U2 were right. He said I was wrong and that I didn't know the rule. I tried to explain to him that anytime you change the scorer's book accept for certain situations and this is not one of them, it is a team T. He told me I was wrong. I told him that you are very adamant and will not listen, so we are going with his call. I dealt with the Blue coach who was irate and told him that he is not changing the R is not changing his mind. At the end of th e1st QTR he still was upset for being challenged by me on the floor. At halftime he explained to us (U1 & U2) we were wrong and why. I pulled my rule book out since he would not listen and made him read the rule. His mouth dropped and said when did this change. I told him it didn't. It has always been that way. He wanted to start the 3rd QTR with a T on white. I told him that it was wrong to do that. He screwed up and that he had to live with it. Does any one else