The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Running end line question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23697-running-end-line-question.html)

cmckenna Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:16pm

I think I answered this right last night to one of our new guys but for some reason today, I was questioning myself and since I don't have my book here with me....

A is inbounding after a made basket. On the inbounds pass, B slaps the ball out of bounds. A loses the right to run the endline right? The throwin was completed because it was leagally touched inbounds.

If B fouls during the throwin, A retains the right to run, correct?

Thanks....

rainmaker Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
I think I answered this right last night to one of our new guys but for some reason today, I was questioning myself and since I don't have my book here with me....

A is inbounding after a made basket. On the inbounds pass, B slaps the ball out of bounds. A loses the right to run the endline right? The throwin was completed because it was leagally touched inbounds.

If B fouls during the throwin, A retains the right to run, correct?

Thanks....

yup.

yup.

ATXCoach Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:33pm

If A1 inbounding holds the ball over the line and into the court, B1 ties it up (not a steal, not a foul - think jump ball). Has A1 put the ball in play and thus on the tie up he/she is standing out of bounds touching the ball? Is this a turnover or jumpball or something else?

I got off to a rocky start on this board but I love asking these questions about scenarios that rarely (or at least I hope) come up.

ATXCoach Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna


If B fouls during the throwin, A retains the right to run, correct?


Please elaborate, I am assuming you mean a foul prior to the ball being touched inbounds. Correct?

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ATXCoach
If A1 inbounding holds the ball over the line and into the court, B1 ties it up (not a steal, not a foul - think jump ball). Has A1 put the ball in play and thus on the tie up he/she is standing out of bounds touching the ball? Is this a turnover or jumpball or something else?

I got off to a rocky start on this board but I love asking these questions about scenarios that rarely (or at least I hope) come up.

If A1 had broken the plane and it's tied up, it's a held ball. Go to AP.

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:39pm

Re:
 
Now, during the next throw-in (let's say the AP was in Team B's direction), let's say Team B does the samething, breaks the plane and A3 grabs the ball and there's another held ball..... it's still Team B's ball.

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ATXCoach
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna


If B fouls during the throwin, A retains the right to run, correct?


Please elaborate, I am assuming you mean a foul prior to the ball being touched inbounds. Correct?

Correct, A2 is in inbounding, B2 holds A1. Foul is called, A retains the right to run the baseline.

ATXCoach Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:41pm

Re: Re:
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Now, during the next throw-in (let's say the AP was in Team B's direction), let's say Team B does the samething, breaks the plane and A3 grabs the ball and there's another held ball..... it's still Team B's ball.
why?

I am assuming you are talking about the throwin immediately after described scenario. Why is this ruled differently?

has this really ever happened twice in a row?

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:46pm

Re: Re: Re:
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ATXCoach
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Now, during the next throw-in (let's say the AP was in Team B's direction), let's say Team B does the samething, breaks the plane and A3 grabs the ball and there's another held ball..... it's still Team B's ball.
why?

I am assuming you are talking about the throwin immediately after described scenario. Why is this ruled differently?

has this really ever happened twice in a row?

I'm sure it has happened Coach, however I've never seen it happen. The reason is because the throw-in was not complete therefore the AP arrow has not changed yet. Therefore, if you have another held ball, it's still going to be Team B's.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ATXCoach
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna


If B fouls during the throwin, A retains the right to run, correct?


Please elaborate, I am assuming you mean a foul prior to the ball being touched inbounds. Correct?

Mostly Correct. That's the meaning of "during the throw-in" -- the throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched inbounds or out-of-bounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1