The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   HELP - NF Pt. 2 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23580-help-nf-pt-2-a.html)

tjones1 Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:02pm

Re: Re: Confused...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Guess I'm missing something.

Can you give me a reference?

I'm not following how if there's no team control during a throw-in, you can still give the ball to team A without using the AP.

Team A has the ball for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 and B2 are called for a double foul.

Ruling: Resume the game with A's throw-in.


Bob,

Got that part, wanting reference to why you wouldn't use AP since there's no team control. Thanks

tjones1 Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:23pm

The only thing I found was in the Basketball guide for this year talking about a situation like this: after a traveling violation had been called. However, the fouls occured before the ball was placed at the disposal of the thrower.

So let me re-phase my questions:

Play 1: Team B has the ball for a throw-in. Before the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower, B3 and A3 are called for a double personal foul.

Ruling 1: Each charged with a foul and Team B will have the ball for throw-in.

Would this be the same ruling if the ball had been placed at the disposal of the thrower?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:25pm

What were we doing when the double foul occurred?

We were in the middle of a throw-in.

That's the POI.

4-36-2b
Play shall be resumed by:
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.


[Edited by BktBallRef on Dec 11th, 2005 at 07:42 PM]

tjones1 Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:28pm

Alright, got it. Thanks Bob and Tony... wasn't reading careful enough!

tjones1 Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:29pm

4-36-2b


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1