The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 09:44am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to lukealex
I'm in my second year of officiating high school and have been asked and have asked about getting Varsity games. I have been told that something that will hold me back is that a couple of the Varsity guys think I need a quicker whistle. How can I achieve this? Any advice?
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 09:50am
Official Forum Member

Drink a couple of Red Bulls before your next game! Seriously, in my opinion, your whistle will be quicker as you become more comfortable on the court.
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 09:51am
Official Forum Member

I have heard you need to anticipate the play, but not the contact. This may help you in foul situations. You can get in position to see what you need to see, when you need to see it.

Other than that, I have found it just takes time. Work as many games as you can, and keep asking for advice.
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 10:01am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
It's very possible that as soon as you feel like you're really getting a quicker whistle, someone will tell you that you need to hold the whistle a little.

I've come to realize that on violations you do need a pretty quick whistle, but on a lot of fouls you can let the play develop a little and try to let the players play through. That's more true the higher up you go.

As usual, I recommend going to watch as many top level varsity games in your area as you can. Try to see 8 or 10 during the season. Watch carefully how others in your locale are quick or slow on an infraction. Try to feel a rhythm to it. Especially, go see the folks who told you to be quicker. It's at least remotely possible that they say one thing and do another. Their words don't necessarily represent the reality of how they do it themselves.