![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			HS game.  Player has 4-5 blood spots on white uniform and very noticable.  I confront player & find he has open wound on his hand.  Player is removed, coach buys him back into game on a full time-out, wound covered, bleeding stopped.  Opposing coach complains that he should not be allowed in game with blood on uniform.  I rule it is not excessive.   
		
		
		
		
		
		
			My fellow officials say player should not be allowed...I say the blood was not excessive. Where is the line drawn on EXCESSIVE? 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	CAGER REF  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I don't have my reference material with me but I believe the criteria is something about "transferable." Check last years rule book, or the year before. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			"Obvious" isn't a criteria. Is the blood transferable to another player? 5 spots... probably not. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I believe that "saturated" plays into that somewhere as well. If a jersey is saturated, the blood can be transfered by contact. 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			3-3-6 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	A player who is bleeding, has an open wound, has an excessive amount of blood on his/her uniform, or has blood on his/her person, shall be directed to leave the game, unless a time-out is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out. It is still left to the official's judgement what "excessive" is. I personally have used the term saturated to opposing coaches who question my judgement of excessive.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |