The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2005, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Sven
NFHS boy's game tonight:

A1 driving to basket for uncontested layup. Just as he begins his try but clearly before the ball is released, trail official whistles a contact foul on B1 against A2 near mid-court. A1 completes his successful shot. It's really a bang bang play.

Confusion ensues. Coach A is pleading for the basket to count. Officials confer and wave off the basket, verbally indicating that "the ball had not left his (A1's) when the foul occurred."

I think the question to be answered is actually this: Had A1 begun the motion which customarily signals the start of a try (or words to that effect) when the whistle blew?

I'm not faulting the officials cuz Lord knows I kick my share of calls and, as mentioned, the shot and the foul were very close in sequence.

As described, should team A get the basket and the ball at the spot of the foul?

Sven
4-11-1 & 2
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1