The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 01, 2005, 01:36am
We don't rent pigs

I attended games tonight as a spectator. Team A has a double digit lead, but their star is on the bench with 4 fouls. Midway of the 4th quarter, team B cuts the lead to 6, so A1 gets up to check back in the game. About this time A scores a basket just as the lead official swallows a bug or something. He blows the whistle and stops the game for a few seconds to regain his breath and his composure. The other official beckons the sub in. Coach B protests that the sub should not be allowed during an official's timeout like this one, since this was not a "normal stoppage of play." (paraphrased) They discussed it briefly, then Coach A called a timeout of her own, making it kind of a moot point. After the game, since he knows I am a rules expert, (I don't know how to do the rolling eyes icon) Coach B asked me about the substitution. I told him I knew of no such restriction, but I would check my books, which I did and found none. I also told him I had a source that knew everything I knew and also most everthing that I don't know. (give yourselves a hand) To make a long story short, (waaaay too late) is a substitution in this case legal?

Lonesome Dove
Old Thu Dec 01, 2005, 01:44am
Official Forum Member

This substitution is legal for NFHS and NCAA.

The only restriction on a "substitution opportunity" is the NCAA mens ruling that no subs are allowed on clock stoppages for made goals with under 1 minute remaining in the game.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Dec 1st, 2005 at 01:46 AM]
Old Thu Dec 01, 2005, 04:13am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
This substitution is legal for NFHS and NCAA.