![]() |
|
|||
Anybody see or hear about this game? If it's already been posted about, forgive me and feel free to delete the thread.
BGSU at Va Tech, tie score in the final seconds. BGSU player attempts a shot with about 2 seconds left. It is no good and bounces off the rim. Va Tech player in an attempt to rebound, bats the ball. After the bat, the horn sounds. After the horn, the ball goes through the hoop. Officials gave BGSU a basket and the victory. Oops. ACC head of officials John Clougherty called Va Tech later on to issue an apology. Just goes to show that sometimes the big guys can make mistakes, too. |
|
|||
I think somebody posted a link to the video of that play. As I recall, it was easy to tell that the ball went in after the horn, but was very difficult to tell who had tapped the ball toward the basket. If it had been an offensive player, then obviously, it would've been good. Tough spot for the officials.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
2-5-2 At the end of either half or at the end of any extra period, the officials after making a call on the playing court shall use replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring that is located on a designated courtside table (i.e., within approximately 3 to 12 feet of the playing court), when such equipment is available, to: a. Determine whether a try for field goal at or near the expiration of time in the first half was released before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock (refer to 5-7.2.b); b. Ascertain whether a try for field goal that will determine the outcome of a game (win, lose, tie), and was attempted at or near the expiration of the game clock, was released before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock (refer to 5-7.2.b); c. Determine, with the reading of 0.00 on the game clock, whether a shot-clock violation occurred at or near the expiration of time in the first half; d. Ascertain, with the reading of 0.00 on the game clock, whether a shot-clock violation occurred at or near the expiration of time when it may determine the outcome of the game (win, lose or tie).
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
![]()
The officials, no matter waht the situation, should have gone to the monitor at the end. It is now protocol to do this. I have not seen the replay on it but obviously, it was not an attempt for goal and when the horn sounded, the ball became dead. If the refs did go to the monitor, it probably would have clearly shown the result. Even if they thought they were right, in this case it sounds like they weren't, the monitor would have confirmed their call.
|
|
|||
Quote:
They just say how we can use it if available.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
quote:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Originally posted by refTN Just to back the guys in the game up, the monitor could not be used because the game was not being televised therefore the guys could not have gone to the monitor. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Uhhmmmmm....no. The rules do not say where the video has to go. They just say how we can use it if available. Dan, Look at the rule closer... 2-5-2 At the end of either half or at the end of any extra period, the officials after making a call on the playing court shall use replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring that is located on a designated courtside table (i.e., within approximately 3 to 12 feet of the playing court), when such equipment is available, Since the game in question was not on television, there was likely no monitor at courtside, or anywhere else within approximately 3 to 12 feet of the playing court. Local TV Cameras shooting for the 11 oclock news and the home teams video are usually not hooked up to monitors and many times they are set up in the top row of the bleachers or along the endline. This, of course, does not change the fact that the officials apparently erred. I do suspect, however, that the refs would have looked at a replay if it were possible and legal to do so. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/23194
And I think there is another thread here with a link to the video.
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most. -- George R. Kirkpatrick |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|