The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another from the "have never seen this before" files (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23381-another-have-never-seen-before-files.html)

Texas Aggie Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:10pm

The play wasn't difficult, but I had to pause for a second and get with my partner.

Team A shooting second (of 2 or 1 and 1; don't recall) free throws. B41 steps into lane early and I (as the lead) have delayed dead ball signal. Free throw does not touch rim prompting my partner to call a violation (his whistle was before mine).

So, we get together and I ask if we had a held ball for simultaneous violations, but then realized it wasn't a simultaneous violation -- Team B committed a violation first; only the dead ball part was simultaneous. We reshoot the second shot.

Its just weird that I've never seen this before or given it any thought. That's why I'm posting it here.

zebraman Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
The play wasn't difficult, but I had to pause for a second and get with my partner.

Team A shooting second (of 2 or 1 and 1; don't recall) free throws. B41 steps into lane early and I (as the lead) have delayed dead ball signal. Free throw does not touch rim prompting my partner to call a violation (his whistle was before mine).

So, we get together and I ask if we had a held ball for simultaneous violations, but then realized it wasn't a simultaneous violation -- Team B committed a violation first; only the dead ball part was simultaneous. We reshoot the second shot.

Its just weird that I've never seen this before or given it any thought. That's why I'm posting it here.

Read rule 9-1-10 (Penalities 4b) and see if you think you should have shot the free throw over again.

Z

BBallfanatic Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:25pm

Based on my interpretation of that rule zebraman, the replay shot should not have been done and team B should have gotten the ball for throw-in?

FrankHtown Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:59pm

casebook 9.1.6 A (b)..is similar, but the free trow shooter steps on the free throw line while releasing the throw. Ruling is double violation..go to AP

FrankHtown Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:01pm

and, being born in New Jersey, we call it a "trow"

ChrisSportsFan Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
The play wasn't difficult, but I had to pause for a second and get with my partner.

Team A shooting second (of 2 or 1 and 1; don't recall) free throws. B41 steps into lane early and I (as the lead) have delayed dead ball signal. Free throw does not touch rim prompting my partner to call a violation (his whistle was before mine).

So, we get together and I ask if we had a held ball for simultaneous violations, but then realized it wasn't a simultaneous violation -- Team B committed a violation first; only the dead ball part was simultaneous. We reshoot the second shot.

Its just weird that I've never seen this before or given it any thought. That's why I'm posting it here.

Since you referred to your partner as a partner verses partners....why would both of you blow the whistle? It's the trail's call.

ChrisSportsFan Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BBallfanatic
Based on my interpretation of that rule zebraman, the replay shot should not have been done and team B should have gotten the ball for throw-in?
I don't have my books to read the rule but when B1 comes in the lane early, you would "fist straight out" and when/if A1 misses his free throw, you give him another try.

SmokeEater Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:35pm

My interpretation of the rule is double violation, whistled at the point the shooting team violates. Go to AP rule.

NCAA rule 9-2 Art. 3 A.R. 7

blindzebra Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:39pm

It is a double violation unless you rule that B coming in early disconcerted the shooter.

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:39pm

I agree, another free throw should have been given due to the lane violation.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
The play wasn't difficult, but I had to pause for a second and get with my partner.

Team A shooting second (of 2 or 1 and 1; don't recall) free throws. B41 steps into lane early and I (as the lead) have delayed dead ball signal. Free throw does not touch rim prompting my partner to call a violation (his whistle was before mine).

So, we get together and I ask if we had a held ball for simultaneous violations, but then realized it wasn't a simultaneous violation -- Team B committed a violation first; only the dead ball part was simultaneous. We reshoot the second shot.

Its just weird that I've never seen this before or given it any thought. That's why I'm posting it here.

Since you referred to your partner as a partner verses partners....why would both of you blow the whistle? It's the trail's call.

Why not?

blindzebra Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:52pm

4. If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate:

a. If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).

b. If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3).

c. If a violation by the free thrower follows disconcertion by an opponent, a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

d. If a fake by an opponent causes the free thrower or a teammate of the free thrower to violate, only the fake is penalized.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
I agree, another free throw should have been given due to the lane violation.
That's wrong.

If there are two (non-simultaneous) LANE violations (i.e., 9-1-6, 9-1-7), then only penalize the first.

If there's a LANE violation followed by a different FT violation (person behind the three-point line enters early, thrower over the line, thrower misses the rim), then penalize them both (unless you think the second was due to disconcertion).

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
I agree, another free throw should have been given due to the lane violation.
That's wrong.

If there are two (non-simultaneous) LANE violations (i.e., 9-1-6, 9-1-7), then only penalize the first.

If there's a LANE violation followed by a different FT violation (person behind the three-point line enters early, thrower over the line, thrower misses the rim), then penalize them both (unless you think the second was due to disconcertion).


thanks for correcting me, but if the person clearly steps in the lane, before the ball is released, you are saying its a double violation? If so, I was wrong. BTW, dont blunt with your answers. SMILE!!!!!

ChrisSportsFan Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
I agree, another free throw should have been given due to the lane violation.
That's wrong.

If there are two (non-simultaneous) LANE violations (i.e., 9-1-6, 9-1-7), then only penalize the first.

If there's a LANE violation followed by a different FT violation (person behind the three-point line enters early, thrower over the line, thrower misses the rim), then penalize them both (unless you think the second was due to disconcertion).

What you're saying is correct in another stitch but not in this one. He said B41 entered the lane early then the freethrower air-balled it. The official has already held up his signal for the kid coming in early so why would you not give the shooter another try after the disconcertion?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1