The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
By rule, the ball is clearly at the team's disposal when the kid is holding it 4 feet inbounds. But I think most of us give the inbounding team the benefit of the doubt and don't start our counts at that point unless they are obviously trying to delay.

If the ball got 15 feet away, you could've blown the whistle and then administered the throw-in yourself, I guess. But I can't argue with the spirit of what you did.

I certainly don't think I would've had a 5-second call there.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1