The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23288-correctable-error.html)

ChuckElias Mon Nov 21, 2005 09:58pm

I'll post this b/c it actually happened tonight in the game after mine. Should be a good exercise to walk through it. FED rules.

A1 shoots at her basket, and the try is unsuccessful. A4 fouls B4 while attempting to rebound the miss. It is Team A's 10th foul of the half. A4 makes a comment to the calling official and the official very obviously considers assessing a technical foul, but does not. Official then mistakenly gives the PC signal while reporting the personal foul. Team B is given a throw-in instead of 2 FTs. B1 advances to the ball into the frontcourt and is fouled. It is Team A's 11th foul of the half.

At this point, is the error still correctable? If so, how do we correct it? How many FT's should Team A receive? Should players be lined up along the lane?

After a few replies, I'll tell you what the officials on the game did.

jdurham Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:22pm

I will reply using NCAA mens rules.
Since the error is detected before the first dead ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in it is correctable.

1. B4 will shoot 2 ft's with the lane cleared
2. Point of interruption= B1 shooting 2 ft's with normal play.

ChuckElias Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jdurham

2. Point of interruption= B1 shooting 2 ft's with normal play.

Don't we go to the POI only if there's been a change of possession?

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:32pm

Correctable.

Correct it by awarding B4 2 shots, lane cleared. Then B1 gets 2 shots, lane occupied.

Team A would not get any FTs. :D

(Did I understand the play correctly?)

ChuckElias Tue Nov 22, 2005 08:25am

Apparently, I was wrong. I guess this isn't really interesting. Oh, well. :)

I agree with JugglingRef's solution. It is clearly still correctable. And both foul penalties must be assessed.

Unfortunately, the guys working the game (2 NCAA, and 1 HS Var) didn't realize the error had been made. When we talked about it at halftime, all three of them said, "I kinda thought something wasn't right. . ."

What I think is interesting is that if the error had been for the wrong player shooting the FT, or shooting an unmerited FT, or for shooting a FT at the wrong basket, then the second foul would've been canceled (2-10-4). But b/c it was failure to award, you don't cancel the intervening activity (2-10-5). I don't like the difference there, mainly b/c I don't understand why the errors should be treated differently in this way. Just doesn't make sense to me.

rainmaker Tue Nov 22, 2005 09:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Apparently, I was wrong. I guess this isn't really interesting. Oh, well. :)

I agree with JugglingRef's solution. It is clearly still correctable. And both foul penalties must be assessed.

Unfortunately, the guys working the game (2 NCAA, and 1 HS Var) didn't realize the error had been made. When we talked about it at halftime, all three of them said, "I kinda thought something wasn't right. . ."

What I think is interesting is that if the error had been for the wrong player shooting the FT, or shooting an unmerited FT, or for shooting a FT at the wrong basket, then the second foul would've been canceled (2-10-4). But b/c it was failure to award, you don't cancel the intervening activity (2-10-5). I don't like the difference there, mainly b/c I don't understand why the errors should be treated differently in this way. Just doesn't make sense to me.

I don't think you're interpreting 2-10-4 correctly. If the error is awarding free throws when you shouldn't, then any fouls DURING those free throws gets cancelled. If the play goes on and then there's a foul, you don't cancel THAT foul. Look at case 2.10.4.

ChuckElias Tue Nov 22, 2005 09:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Look at case 2.10.4.
That's exactly the case I was looking at. I didn't make the connection that the FT was still in the air. Still "during" the FT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1