![]() |
1. B-1 Reaches through the plane of the boundary line and fouls thrower-in A-1. Official charges B-1 with an intentional personal foul and issues a warning to team B. Is the official correct?
2. While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2. The try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. Official rules team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct? 3. A-1's try hits the ring and bounces straight up in the imaginary cylinder above the ringt livel, when B-1 touches the basket. Official rules this basket interference. Is the official correct? 4. B-1, while playing the ball causes excessive contact. Official rules this an intentional personal foul. IS the official correct? 5. A double personal foul is charged while team A is in countrol. Official awards the ball to team A nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct? |
Quote:
As I said, I'm not going to give you the answers, b/c #1-#4 are pretty basic questions. Why don't you tell us your answers and why you chose them. Then we can tell you where you need to brush up. Quote:
|
My answers:
1. N 2. Y 3. N 4. N 5. N |
Ok, but how did you arrive at those answers? Any rules to back them up?
|
I'm away at college and I forgot my rulebooks back home. I'm just going by experience and what I remember. That's why I'm asking you guys, normally, I'd just look them up.
|
You got 2 of the 5 right.
|
1. B-1 Reaches through the plane of the boundary line and fouls thrower-in A-1. Official charges B-1 with an intentional personal foul and issues a warning to team B. Is the official correct? I say no, because I don't think you need to give a warning along with the Intentional. 2. While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2. The try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. Official rules team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct? I can't remember whether B can run the endline or take the spot. 3. A-1's try hits the ring and bounces straight up in the imaginary cylinder above the ringt livel, when B-1 touches the basket. Official rules this basket interference. Is the official correct? BI can only happen if the ring is touched when the ball is on the ring. 4. B-1, while playing the ball causes excessive contact. Official rules this an intentional personal foul. IS the official correct? Excessive contact does not constitute an intentional foul. 5. A double personal foul is charged while team A is in countrol. Official awards the ball to team A nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct? POI is wherever A had the ball, not where the foul occured. |
Quote:
You charge the intentional immediately, but you also issue the warning. That way, the next time somebody breaks the plane, it's a T and not simply the initial warning. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. I think it's dumb to charge both. In fact, as soon as the defender crosses the plane, the official should blow it dead for the warning. Then if there is contact, it has to be a T. So either penalize just the intentional personal, or not havethe possibility of an intentional personal. Since that is not true, you only penalize one. I say the official is wrong. 2. I say No. I believe the Fed wants to not take away B's chance to run the endline. 3. No BI. With the ball in the cylinder, you can't touch the ball. When the ball is touching the rim, you can't touch the ball, net, rim. or flange. 4. Yes. 5. By the strictest definition, the game was interrupted where A had the ball. Throw-in from there. |
Quote:
The correct answer is charge an intentional foul and report a DOG warning. Shoot 2 FTs and give the ball back to A at the spot. BTW, your scenario is the same, you simply changed the sequence. You said, "as soon as the defender crosses the plane, the official should blow it dead for the warning. Then if there is contact, it has to be a T." The penalty phase is almost identical. Report the DOG warning, assess the T, have any player on A shoot the 2 FTs and give Team A the ball at the division line. IOW, your solution is no different than the NFHS ruling that you oppose. :confused: |
Quote:
:D With the exceptions that one foul is a T and one is a personal foul. They usually have different impacts on the way that player plays. If the official had a provision to blow the play dead as soon as the plane was broken, he might prevent continued action and prevent a foul. In other words, my solution is different. ;) Edit: correct italic tag. [Edited by JugglingReferee on Nov 21st, 2005 at 11:14 PM] |
FWIW
Quote:
|
Quote:
<B>10.3.11SITUATION C:</B> Team A scores near the end of the fourth quarter and is trailing by one point. B1 has the ball and is moving along the end-line to make the throw-in. A2 steps out of bounds and fouls B1. Is the foul personal or technical? <B>RULING:</B> This is an intentional personal foul. The time remaining to be played or whether Team A had previously been warned for violating the throw-in plane is not a factor. <b>If the team had not been warned, the foul constitutes the warning.</b> Casebook play 9.2.11 covers the companion situation- knocking the ball out of the thrower's hand. The ruling is a technical foul <b>and</b> a delay warning. |
Quote:
1-Y 2-Y 3-Y 4-N 5-N ball is placed at the POI. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If A2's foul was near the end-line, then Chuck's answer is correct. If A2's foul was such that the throw-in would be on the sideline, then it's obviously a spot throw-in. I agree that Chuck's answer is likely what the test maker intended. |
Quote:
The throw-in official would ask the on-floor captain just like R's in football ask about penalty enforcement. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The new rule- R7-5-5- sez that "after a common foul prior to the bonus rule being in effect, as in 4-19-2, any player of the offended team shall make the throw-in from <b>the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul</b>". Iow, if the closest spot to the occurrance of the foul is on a sideline, it's a spot throw-in. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 24th, 2005 at 10:55 AM] |
7-5-7 has not been superceded and neither has 7-5-3. I do not believe that the we should take away the privilige of running the endline. By not giving the endline it gives the offening team a distinct advantage. That's why they added that a few years ago.
My guess is once again the rules writers wrote something and screwed it up. If you read the comments on the rules 7-5-5 was added makes the penalty consistent for team control and player control fouls.. The comments specificall state that rule only applies when the team is in control, and that there is no team control during a throwin, jump ball, or when ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. Based on the comments this does not apply to a scored field goal when there is a foul by a scoring team not in control of the ball I will state that Chuck is right and I stand by that. Sorry |
Quote:
Sorry, I can't agree with you and Chuck either. I'll go with Bob Jenkins. I think that Chuck needs to contact his state IAABO interpreter on this one. |
Still disagree.
7-5-7 says that ball is awarded out of bounds after a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3 ( ball is awarded out of bounds after field goal or a suceesful FT or awarded goal.) Nothing about an ensuing throw-in. Based on the comments on the new rule, 7-5-5 was written specifcally to addess team fouls and PC whn a team is in control... I still believe the rules committe never intended to take away the run after a score. That is a privilige you get from the score. The committee would never allow an offending team to force a spot throw-in on a foul after a score since that's why the run end line provision was put inthere. Cases play 7.5.7E concure with the ruling. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. try released 2. foul against the defense (not committed by airborne shooter) 3. ball enters basket the throw-in after the basket is from a designated spot? I'm not exactly clear what I'm supposed to ask about. |
Quote:
2a) The foul is near the baseline 2b) The foul is near mid-court we all agree that in 2a, the ball is inbounded on the end-line, and Team B can run the endline. In 2B, some would administer a spot throwin near mid-court, and some would administer a throwin on the endline with B being allowed to run. |
Ok. So JR's not really disagreeing with me after all, since I haven't really said anything about 2B. My initial answer assumed 2A, since that's what the test is probably (99.44%) asking. But I can ask about it.
For the record, I'd be inclined to side with JR. If the foul is committed near the midcourt line while the successful try is in the air, I think you'd go to the spot closest to the foul. Yes, you lose the advantage of running the endline, but you gain the advantage of advancing the ball 28'. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm. |