![]() |
I know this has come up before and I am fairly certain I know the answer but....
A1 is setting up in the paint looking for a pass and has been there about 2 seconds when the pass comes in and is then dropped by A1 . Ball remains in the key as does A1 as he tries to regain control of the now loose ball, this battle goes on for about 4 or 5 seconds . Since Team A still has team control can I call 3 seconds ? If I can call 3 seconds would any of you ever call it ? I checked the case book and rule book and could find nothing that really spelled this out . Thanks and sorry for bringing this one back up.... |
In NCAA, the 3-second count continues. This is stated explicitly in AR 16 (pg.129).
In FED, the 3-second count continues, but I can't remember the explicit citation. It was changed a couple years ago and I thought there was a case play, but I can't find it. The 3-second count used to be discontinued during an interrupted dribble, but then they deleted that exception. Can't find it now. . . |
If you are being technical, calling 3 seconds would be the proper call. If it is not clear if B would get the ball, I would do my best to not make that call unless A gets the ball back. By rule if team control has not been lost you would have a 3 second call. I just do not think that would be my first concern.
Peace |
From "COMMENTS ON THE 2002-03 RULES REVISIONS" from that year's rule book:
<b>THREE-SECOND RESTRICTIONS REMAIN IN EFFECT DURING AN INTERRUPTED DRIBBLE(9-7):</b> <i>This rule change deletes the requirement for the three-second count to be terminated during an interrupted dribble. By rule, team control remains in effect during an interrupted dribble, therefore the three-second restrictions should also apply. Also by definition, an interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is "loose". Team control continues (as does the three-second restriction). Therefore the rules applying to a loose ball and an interrupted dribble should be the same".</i> Basically, the FED just simplified the rule down to say 3-seconds applies anytime there is team control in the front court. |
Nice find Jurassic , thanks for your help !
I know we don't pander to the crowd/coaches but I can imagine the reaction of both if a 3 second call was made in the situation described above . I think the coaches eyes would glaze over when I gave him the explanation....then he would puke on my shoes and then I would be forced to run him . I think my counting to 3 will get a lot longer in this instance ! |
Actually, the NFHS does give allowances for a player to be in the lane for over 3 seconds.
9-7-3 Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal. Edited for a case play: 9.7.2 The count on a player in the restricted area is suspended when that player begins a try for goal. [Edited by RookieDude on Nov 21st, 2005 at 12:56 PM] |
We're talkin' loose balls here
Quote:
Said player could, conceivably, shake and bake for 5-seconds. I have been looking for this for years so I could call 5-seconds . . . |
Re: We're talkin' loose balls here
Quote:
Said player could, conceivably, shake and bake for 5-seconds. I have been looking for this for years so I could call 5-seconds . . . [/B][/QUOTE]Nope, you're misunderstanding the allowance. Said player can't shake and bake for 5 seconds. The allowance applies only to a player dribbling directly <b>to</b> the basket or finishing a move to score. The allowance doesn't include shake-n-baking or stopping for head fakes or any other kinda fakes. That's not the purpose or intent of the rule. |
Yep, what Jurassic just said. Shake and bake doesn't work here. 3 doesn't = 5
|
Huh
Quote:
|
Depends on when my closely guarded count started. If the offensive player was outside the paint when LGP was established & I stared my count a second or two before he dribbled into the paint, then I might make the 5 second call. Otherwise, if he was farting around in the paint for that long I've probably got a three second violation.
Please note the words "immediately" and "begins a try" in the rules sections you cited. If the defense is good enough to make the offensive player significantly hesitate or delay beginning the try for 3 seconds, the act is clearly no longer immediate. IMHO the intent of the rules cited is not to penalize good defense. |
Quote:
If you hesitate to "shake-n-bake", you're gonna get called. That's not the intent of the allowance. |
Re: Re: We're talkin' loose balls here
Quote:
So you're saying it doesn't include anything that wouldn't be included in continuous motion? And that the faking isn't part of continuous motion? |
Re: Re: Re: We're talkin' loose balls here
Quote:
And that the faking isn't part of continuous motion? [/B][/QUOTE]Yes. You have to go straight to the hoop. No stopping and then head-faking to get the defender off their feet. If you stopped to "shake-n-bake" any time during continuous motion or the dribble, the allowance doesn't apply. Of course, anything the shooter does in the air is OK- until s/he comes down. |
Duly noted
Quote:
Are you going to call 3-seconds during this sequence? My observation is that officials do not interpret "Begins a try" as limited to "continuous motion". A1 can do more 'stuff' once s/he has begun a try than continuous motion would allow. The sequence for A1, above, could consume 5-seconds. It's unlikely, no doubt, but I'm just making the point that a 5-second violation is a kind of (somewhat academic) limit on how long the 'allowance' in the lane can possibly endure. |
Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
As he pulls the ball down he's stepping towards the basket for his layup. If we take your advice the whistle will sound as the ball is hitting the backboard on the layup. |
Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
If the ballhandler attempts that move, he doesn't get to put the ball up. |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
A1 can certainly bring the ball back down while stepping around his defender. |
Re: Re: Re: We're talkin' loose balls here
Quote:
|
Re: Duly noted
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]If the player stopped their dribble to the basket, then that's when the exception ends. If the count is at 3 by that time, it's a violation. The player can dribble <b>directly</b> to the basket and then shoot, but that player <b>cannot</b> stop anytime during that sequence. Iow, you can dribble straight to the basket and put the ball up-- but nuthin' else- no fakes, no pauses, no nuthin'. Similarly, if they're into a shooting motion, they must complete that motion without stopping to fake. |
Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
IMO, as long as the player with the ball is looking at the basket (and I don't mean that literally), I'm not inclined to call a three-second violation, no matter how many times s/he fakes. If s/he looks to pass, or actually passes the ball, I'll get the violation. And, no, I don't have any cases that specifically say this. |
Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Duly noted
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
C'mon Chuck, this aint rocket science. If A1's making progress and/or trying to get a shot off then he can stay in there forever. If he passes out & stays in call it. |
Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
Last time I checked 50 / 2 is 25. ;) |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
(Or should I say that would be correct in *your* area but in *my* area we do things differently... :p ) |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
I don't believe that you watch the lane that closely, hell bent on taking a 3 second violation at the slightest provocation. I've seen you work, you don't do this. |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
50 headfakes in 5 seconds is 10 headfakes a second...duh!:) BTW...might as well put in my 2 cents. 50 headfakes gets a 3 second violation whistle from me. Maybe not on one upfake, I would have to see it, but..."forever in the key"...I don't think so. |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Tsk, tsk, tsk..... There is no such word as "pettard". You obviously meant "petard". <b>Petard</b>: - pe-tard - derived from the French noun- <i>pet</i> or <b>"fart"</b>. - 1) a small bell-shaped bomb used to breach a gate or wall. 2) a loud firecracker Word History: The French used <i>petard</i>- <b>"a loud discharge of intestinal gas"</b>- for a kind of infernal engine used for blasting through the gates of a city. To be <b>"hoist by one's own petard"</b> means to blow oneself up with one's own bomb. So......... You either wanted to blow yourself up or fart. Which one was it? Btw, if you put it to a vote, I would hazard a guess that door #1 would win in a landslide. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 23rd, 2005 at 07:54 AM] |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
[/B][/QUOTE] Who you calling math illiterate? Last time I checked 50 / 2 is 25. ;) [/B][/QUOTE] I think you both got it wrong... 50 headfakes in 5 seconds is 10 headfakes a second...duh!:) [/B][/QUOTE] Very good Rookiedude, you have received your bonus points for the day!! :) |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
No way, now how is this play a 3 second violation. |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Duly noted
Quote:
50 headfakes at 2 per second takes 25 seconds. You could also take his total and time and come up with a rate...as you have done. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm. |