The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
Had a partner describe this play to me from his game the night before. A1 shooting the first of a 1and1. B1 violates. A1's shot misses everything.

He and his partner decided that B1 violated first and they awarded another FT attempt. I believe they should have gone to the arrow.

Opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 09:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Rule 9-1PENALTY4(b)- unless you decide that B1's violation was also disconcertion. If so, use (c)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
the shooter and shooter's coach will have a a good argument that B1 coming in the lane first distracted the shooter and caused the airball, so disconcertion would probably be called, not in all situations, but most of the time!!!!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2005, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
the shooter and shooter's coach will have a a good argument that B1 coming in the lane first distracted the shooter and caused the airball, so disconcertion would probably be called, not in all situations, but most of the time!!!!
Not true. It's a violation to enter the lane before the ball contacts the rim or backboard. Most lane violations are for entering after release and prior to the ball making contact. If they do enter before the release, then you would have a case but most of the time it's going to be a double violation, go to the arrow.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 133
I would never call disconcertion on this. This is a double violation, as Mregor says...go to the arrow. The only time you concern yourself as to which violation occured first is when it involves the players along the lane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1