The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2005, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
What am I missing?? The simple act of B1 touching the ball does not remove team control. So we have a ball still with in team control, with front court status. When does the ball obtain back court status? When it touches the floor or a player in the backcourt. If A lets the ball bounce in the back court, then picks it up, sounds like a legal play to me,..B1 was the last to touch before the ball gained backcourt status. But in the described situation, the ball never acheived back court status, until A, in the back court, touches the ball. Now the ball has backcourt status, and A caused it to become backcourt. I'd call a violation.

And you'd be incorrect. It is NOT a violation to cause the ball to attain backcourt status. It is only a violation to be the first to touch the ball if you or a teammate of yours was the last to touch it BEFORE it gained backcourt status. B1 was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status in this play. A1 touched the ball WHEN it gained backcourt status, not before.
See the difference?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1