The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2005, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
I appreciate the the 4-point system is not

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Jeff,
Remember you are not basing your argument on the specific language in the Rules Book, but rather on some 4 point system that has been devised to help officials determine backcourt violations. Don't get caught up in language that is NOT in the book.

Your play is not a backcourt violation because Casebook play 9.9.1 Situation C part (b) says that it is legal.

I appreciate that the 4-point system is not presented in the rules book as such. But it is widely used, and useful.

In my view, 9.9.1 Situation C part (b) does not address the play I describe. It says "B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt". That doesn't make clear whether or not the ball attains backcourt location before "A2 recovers in the backcourt".

__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1