The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23052-team-control-foul.html)

malloy Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:32am

Team Control Foul
 
A1 is at the free throw line with ball in hand for a 2 shot foul . A2 pushes B2 who both behind the free throw line extended while the ball is still in A1's hand. A2 is called for the foul which is a team control foul. How would you handle this situation or apply it? Thanks.

[Edited by malloy on Nov 6th, 2005 at 09:38 AM]

ChuckElias Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:33am

Yes.

ChuckElias Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:34am

No.

ChuckElias Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:34am

I'm not really sure.

ChuckElias Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:34am

What exactly is the question again?

malloy Sun Nov 06, 2005 09:42am

Sorry, I reposted my question. please reply.

Kelvin green Sun Nov 06, 2005 10:06am

How would you have handled it under the old rules?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 06, 2005 10:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by malloy
A1 is at the free throw line with ball in hand for a 2 shot foul . A2 pushes B2 who both behind the free throw line extended while the ball is still in A1's hand. A2 is called for the foul which is a team control foul. How would you handle this situation or apply it? Thanks.


It's a false double foul. You clear the lane and allow A1 to shoot his FTs. THen you award the ball to Team B for a throw-in.

You handle it exactly like you would have last year with one exception: You don't allow B2 to shoot FTs if B is in the bonus.

Just think of it this way: Team B is not considered to be in the bonus if Team A has team control. Think of it in that respect and you'll have no problem.

malloy Sun Nov 06, 2005 10:15am

Thank you. Some referees thought that A1 lost his first free throw since it was a team control foul. And then you clear the lane for the second throw. If he made it, team B had the ball on the base line. If he missed it, It would be a throw in at the spot of the foul. Does any of that make since?

rainmaker Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by malloy
Sorry, I reposted my question. please reply.
And the rest of us are feeling very left out!

Nevadaref Sun Nov 06, 2005 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by malloy
A1 is at the free throw line with ball in hand for a 2 shot foul . A2 pushes B2 who both behind the free throw line extended while the ball is still in A1's hand. A2 is called for the foul which is a team control foul. How would you handle this situation or apply it? Thanks.


It's a false double foul. You clear the lane and allow A1 to shoot his FTs. THen you award the ball to Team B for a throw-in.

You handle it exactly like you would have last year with one exception: You don't allow B2 to shoot FTs if B is in the bonus.

Just think of it this way: Team B is not considered to be in the bonus if Team A has team control. Think of it in that respect and you'll have no problem.

Tony, I agree with your ruling. I just find it interesting that you now concur that there is team control while the FT shooter is holding or dribbling the ball prior to the release of the try. IIrc you weren't so sure of this a few months back.

:)

canuckrefguy Sun Nov 06, 2005 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
What exactly is the question again?
Shut up.

ChuckElias Sun Nov 06, 2005 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
What exactly is the question again?
Shut up.

As Mr. Grammar Guy, I have to remind you that's not a question. Did you mean "Shut up, eh?"

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 06, 2005 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
What exactly is the question again?
Shut up.

As Mr. Grammar Guy, I have to remind you that's not a question. Did you mean "Shut up, eh?"

Shut up.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 06, 2005 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Tony, I agree with your ruling. I just find it interesting that you now concur that there is team control while the FT shooter is holding or dribbling the ball prior to the release of the try. IIrc you weren't so sure of this a few months back.

:)

No, I wasn't sure. And what did I say in that thread? "...we'll just have to wait and see what they publish."

Evenso, 4-12 doesn't specifically address FTs. But all the interps I've seen at clinics say that you treated FTs as a team control situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1