The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2005, 05:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey


Nevada Ref,

Then you agree that the error is for not signaling? Do you think that is the intent of this correctable error? It just seems to me it should be about the score. Also, how does the coach even know that an error has been made if the score is on the board?

I am not disagreeing with you but, I would really like to see a casebook ruling where the play had the ref not signaling but the scorer putting up the 3.
On this particular application of the rule, it all comes down to the signal.

2-10-1e says, "Erroneously counting or canceling a score."

The way an official counts a three-point goal is by giving the proper signal. Failure to give that signal means the basket is only worth two points. Thus, here a lack of action from an official has erroneously canceled a point.
So we have a correctable error.

That's my understanding of the ruling.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1