The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2005, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
under the section "new HS rules" on their website, it cites 9-3-2 and says "delaying return to the court after a throw-in is now a violation"
What?? That is still a T, isn't it? The change this year is only with respect to leaving the court for an unauthorized reason, which is no longer a T, but just a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2005, 11:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
under the section "new HS rules" on their website, it cites 9-3-2 and says "delaying return to the court after a throw-in is now a violation"
What?? That is still a T, isn't it? The change this year is only with respect to leaving the court for an unauthorized reason, which is no longer a T, but just a violation.
You're completely right. Good catch. IAABO should change that- it's wrong. "Delaying return to the court" after any time that you've been legally OOB is still a "T" as per R10-3-3.

Unauthorized "leaving" is a violation. Delaying "returning" is a "T".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2005, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Is it still posted? I brought this to the attention of Peter Webb, the IAABO lead interpreter, and it was removed from the Web site the next day. Peter told me the error was a result of misinformation received early in rules changes sharings.

There was a separate link regarding the rules changes that was removed and the link to the HS rules from the menu had been down for a couple of weeks. I will let them know...again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2005, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
...then #63. Thrower-in A1 completes the throw-in to A2.A1 fails to immediately enter the playing court after releasing the ball.Official rules A1 has commited a violation. Is the official correct?

The answer is "No" based on the prior posts. Technical foul for not "immediately" entering the playing court. Any disagree?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1