The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   GOT TO KNOW!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23025-got-know.html)

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:02am

The traveling quiz is killing me. I need to know the answer to one of the questions now or I am going to go crazy. If A2 passes to A1. A1 throws the ball over B1's head and runs to retreive the ball, takes one dribble and shoots a lay-up. Is this traveling?

You are not allowed to pass the ball to youself right? If it had been a shot attempt then it would have been legal. B/c it was a pass to oneself it's traveling RIGHT?

Texref Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:05am

If the ball hit the ground before A1 touches it again, it is a legal dribble. As stated in the other post, it is just not one that is usually seen.

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by Texref
If the ball hit the ground before A1 touches it again, it is a legal dribble. As stated in the other post, it is just not one that is usually seen.
My question is how is that a legal dribble? It wasnt a dribble at all. It was a pass right? Tossing the ball over a defensive players head, then retrieving it for a layup would constitue a pass to oneself right?

ThickSkin Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
The traveling quiz is killing me. I need to know the answer to one of the questions now or I am going to go crazy. If A2 passes to A1. A1 throws the ball over B1's head and runs to retreive the ball, takes one dribble and shoots a lay-up. Is this traveling?

You are not allowed to pass the ball to youself right? If it had been a shot attempt then it would have been legal. B/c it was a pass to oneself it's traveling RIGHT?

The difference between what your post says and the question on the quiz is that the ball hit the floor <b> before </b> A1 touched it in the quiz. In your question he retrieves the ball then dribbles. This is a violation because the ball didn't touch the floor before he dribbled.

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
The traveling quiz is killing me. I need to know the answer to one of the questions now or I am going to go crazy. If A2 passes to A1. A1 throws the ball over B1's head and runs to retreive the ball, takes one dribble and shoots a lay-up. Is this traveling?

You are not allowed to pass the ball to youself right? If it had been a shot attempt then it would have been legal. B/c it was a pass to oneself it's traveling RIGHT?

The difference between what your post says and the question on the quiz is that the ball hit the floor <b> before </b> A1 touched it in the quiz. In your question he retrieves the ball then dribbles. This is a violation because the ball didn't touch the floor before he dribbled.

Yeah I screwed it up. Sorry. However using what the quiz says, I still dont understand how it can constitue a dribble just b/c it hit the floor before being retrieved.

ThickSkin Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Quote:

Originally posted by Texref
If the ball hit the ground before A1 touches it again, it is a legal dribble. As stated in the other post, it is just not one that is usually seen.
My question is how is that a legal dribble? It wasnt a dribble at all. It was a pass right? Tossing the ball over a defensive players head, then retrieving it for a layup would constitue a pass to oneself right?

It is all a matter of how you look at it. When or if you take the test, you will be in serious trouble if you don't take the question for what it is worth. If the question deals with traveling and a dribble don't complicate it by adding in that you think it is a pass. As someone stated a few days ago, you must have an understanding of rule 4. This will spell out what a legal dribble is or an airborne shooter!

OldCoachNewRef Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:14am

I guess you just need to think of "How does a legal dribble begin?" That should answer your question.

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Quote:

Originally posted by Texref
If the ball hit the ground before A1 touches it again, it is a legal dribble. As stated in the other post, it is just not one that is usually seen.
My question is how is that a legal dribble? It wasnt a dribble at all. It was a pass right? Tossing the ball over a defensive players head, then retrieving it for a layup would constitue a pass to oneself right?

It is all a matter of how you look at it. When or if you take the test, you will be in serious trouble if you don't take the question for what it is worth. If the question deals with traveling and a dribble don't complicate it by adding in that you think it is a pass. As someone stated a few days ago, you must have an understanding of rule 4. This will spell out what a legal dribble is or an airborne shooter!

Thanks for the advice. But in the example, it doesnt use the word dribble or pass. So then its a judgment call. I dont think you toss the ball over a players head to execute a dribble. If that were the case lets suppose A1 is being hounded all night by B1...B1 is much quicker and has been stealing the ball form A1 on a regular basis. So A1 could, stading at the top of the key, toss the ball to the corner and retrieve it after it bounces once, just to keep from having to dribble? Doesnt make since.

Texref Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:19am


Yeah I screwed it up. Sorry. However using what the quiz says, I still dont understand how it can constitue a dribble just b/c it hit the floor before being retrieved.

Read the definition of a dribble. I don't have my Fed books, but here are the first three articles from NCAA:

Section 18.Dribble
Art.1.A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats, pushes or taps the ball to the playing court once or several times.
Art.2.The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing, tapping or batting the ball to the playing court.
Art.3.During a dribble, the ball may be batted into the air, provided thatit is permitted to strike the playing court one or more times before the ball is touched again with either hand.

The player "threw" the ball to start the dribble. As long as the "throw" strikes the court before the player, it constitutes a dribble. It is an ugly play, and one that I would venture a guess that nearly 50% (just a guess) would call a travel.

OldCoachNewRef Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:22am

When the ball hit the floor, it was the start of a legal dribble (bat, throw, toss may start a legal dribble). What you described is legal. He could also continue his dribble once in the corner if he wanted. (TexRef beat me to the punch. Sorry if this is redundant.)

[Edited by OldCoachNewRef on Nov 4th, 2005 at 10:27 AM]

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by Texref

Yeah I screwed it up. Sorry. However using what the quiz says, I still dont understand how it can constitue a dribble just b/c it hit the floor before being retrieved.

Read the definition of a dribble. I don't have my Fed books, but here are the first three articles from NCAA:

Section 18.Dribble
Art.1.A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats, pushes or taps the ball to the playing court once or several times.
Art.2.The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing, tapping or batting the ball to the playing court.
Art.3.During a dribble, the ball may be batted into the air, provided thatit is permitted to strike the playing court one or more times before the ball is touched again with either hand.

The player "threw" the ball to start the dribble. As long as the "throw" strikes the court before the player, it constitutes a dribble. It is an ugly play, and one that I would venture a guess that nearly 50% (just a guess) would call a travel.

I understand what your saying. Thanks. What then would consitute a pass to oneself, retrieving the ball before it contacts the floor?

ThickSkin Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
What then would consitute a pass to oneself, retrieving the ball before it contacts the floor?
Absolutely!

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:40am

It makes sense but it doesn't you know? I am looking at the rule book, I understand. But I dont get how a player could move the ball 15-20feet by tossing the ball in the air and retrieving it after a bounce. I guess it doesnt matter either if the player in going toward or away from the basket?

jritchie Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:50am

Now if the player has already dribbled, none of this is legal, whether it hits the floor or not!! :) Because you are not able to start another dribble after you have used it up! So the call would be what?? (double dribble or traveling)

Nate1224hoops Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:51am

[) Because you are not able to start another dribble after you have used it up! So the call would be what?? (double dribble or traveling) [/B][/QUOTE]

Double Dribble

Nevadaref Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:

Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
What then would consitute a pass to oneself, retrieving the ball before it contacts the floor?
Absolutely!

And this is still not a travelling violation. It is an illegal dribble. See casebook play 4.15.4 Situation E.

There is no NFHS rule against what you call a pass to oneself. Only the NBA has a no selfpass rule.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1