The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interpretation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22970-interpretation.html)

yoyo Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:59am

player steals pass or chases loose ball with one downward push "driblle?" and a two hand "catch"...... an official was telling me that does not count as a dribble and player has dribble left. true???????? or not?

WhistlesAndStripes Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:03am

not true.

ChuckElias Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:13am

FED 4-15-4, Note 2 "A player is not dribbling. . . when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions."

Maybe this is what the official was thinking about.

rwest Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:21am

It depends
 
In the judgement of the official was the player in control when the downward push was made? For example, if I deflect the ball over my opponents head, I do not have to let the ball touch the floor before catching it and starting a dribble. The deflection was not in control of the player. You can't start a dribble without control.

Case Play 4.15.1 Situation A: Ruling: ....The dribble does not begin until A1 has gained control.

Case Play 4.15.1 Situation B:

A1's throw-in pass is beyond A2. (A) A2 reaches out and slaps the ball toward A's basket; or (b) A2 muffs the pass. In both situations, A2 then gains control and dribbles to the basket and scores. Ruling: No violation in etiher (a) or (b).

So did the player steal the ball by deflecting it without exhibiting control? If so then he may catch the ball and then dribble. On chasing the loose ball, when did the downward push occur? Is that was caused the loose ball? Was A1 in control of the ball and B1 slapped it away causing a downward push? If so, then again you don't have control and B1 may catch and then start a dribble.




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1