The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 30, 2005, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Question: T or F

After a double technical foul, the alternating-possession throw-in spot is determined by the location of the ball when the fouls occured.

There's not enough information here to answer the question. What was the status of the ball when the official called the double T?

If one team had control, then there is no AP throw-in, as the ball is simply awarded back to the team in control at the spot nearest to the ball.

If an unsuccessful try was in flight when the official called the double T, then play would be resumed with an AP throw-in.

Quote:
Case Book *4.19.8
A1 and B1 foul one another at approximately the same time. The contact occurs during: (b)a dead-ball situation.
RULING: It is a double technical foul. No free throws are awarded and play resumes at the point of interruption. (4-36)

Rule Book 4-36-2c
Play shall be resumed by:
c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control...

NFHS...dead ball, double technical, no team in control.

Please give example of when a team would be in control during a dead ball.
The reason you are confused here is that you stopped quoting the rule too soon. 4-36-2c says ". . .when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved." Yes, the ball is dead, but if there's an infraction (foul or traveling violation, for example), goal, or end of period, then we know who is going to get the ball next. And that's where we resume.

So, for example, B1 fouls A1 as A1 releases a try for goal. Official sounds the whistle for the personal foul. The try is unsuccessful. After the ball has become dead, A1 and B1 curse at each other. Official calls a double technical foul.

So now what? The ball is dead with neither team in control. What's the POI? Well, b/c there was an infraction (B1's personal foul), we know that A1 would have had control if the double T had not occured. Therefore, we resume by awarding A1 2 FTs with players lined up along the lane and continue the game as after any "normal" FTs.

Make sense?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1