The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What you got? (nfhs) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22902-what-you-got-nfhs.html)

tweetz Fri Oct 28, 2005 04:54pm

ummmm.....
 

Ok, I see that. I just wish they worded it in such a way that would make it clearer that there should be a penalty for pulling the jersey out at the chest. It only specifically states that taking the jersey off is a T. It sort of implies in a roundabout way that pulling the jersey out could be a T as well.

there were even two different pictures in the POE publication. good pictures.
__________________________________________________ _______
Why don't they just say it, for crying out loud? [/B][/QUOTE]

__________________________________________________ ___
a pic is worth a thousand words........

rainmaker Sat Oct 29, 2005 02:31am

I agree with RookieDude. (Now there's a sentence I never expected to say!) If I have to send someone off the floor because of blood on their jersey, I"m going to remind about the locker room rule. I HATE the thought of giving a T for this. And that goes for boys or girls.

David M Sat Oct 29, 2005 07:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by David M

Bob:

I am not questioning you but what if A15 had previously been in the game and has scored/fouled?

I don't understand the question. It doesn't matter. A1 can switch shirts (outside the visual confines ...) with another player, or wear a practice jersey that's not confusing to the other team, or ....

See case 3.3.6A

I don't have my books with me so I can't look up the case you cited. What I mean is: what if A15 had already participated in the game? He/She has scored points or has commited a foul. If you now have a different player wearing that number would it be legal?

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 29, 2005 08:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by David M
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by David M

Bob:

I am not questioning you but what if A15 had previously been in the game and has scored/fouled?

I don't understand the question. It doesn't matter. A1 can switch shirts (outside the visual confines ...) with another player, or wear a practice jersey that's not confusing to the other team, or ....

See case 3.3.6A

I don't have my books with me so I can't look up the case you cited. What I mean is: what if A15 had already participated in the game? He/She has scored points or has commited a foul. If you now have a different player wearing that number would it be legal?

Yes.

The RULING on that case play sez "The scorer will make necessary changes in the scorebook without penalty". The COMMENT at the bottom of that case play sez "The spirit and intent of the rule is to do everything possible to allow the player to use a different shirt and return without penalty. However, identical numbers shall not be allowed on the same team".

RookieDude Sat Oct 29, 2005 11:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I agree with RookieDude. (Now there's a sentence I never expected to say!)
:D

...don't worry rainmaker...the season's still early...I'm sure I can live down to your expectations soon enough. ;)



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1