The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 29, 2005, 04:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by walter
9.2.2(C) Appears to directly correspond. I just have a question. In that sitch, B2 scores off of the illegal throw-in. The ruling states that a throw-in must be from out of bounds. I have no problem there and totaly agree with the ruling. However, in the sitch posted, they simply started up the floor. If B's coach or a player on the floor realized they did not inbound properly even thought he ball was at their disposal, and had not used 5 seconds yet because I'm assuming the official had started the count, could they do the do-over or is the ruling a violation because of the pass and the start up the floor? Or, what happens if B2 after a dribble ot two realizes the mistake, picks up the ball turns and sprints back to the baseline in an obvious attempt to properly inbound the ball? Too late?
Yup, too late. When the FED put this case play in, they explained that it was an immediate violation if the throwing team started upcourt without going OOB for the throw-in. There were no provisions at all attached to the case play-- as soon as a player started up-court with the ball, call the violation right away. If they didn't take the ball upcourt and they're just confused, then let 'em sort out what they're supposed to be doing before you start the 5-second count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1