The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 20, 2005, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Well, I was going on definitions 4-22: "Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field goal try or tap while it is on its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level...", and 4-40-2: "A try for field goal is an attempt to score 2 or 3 points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket".

In this case, A1 "shot" the ball at B's basket, so it is not a try. Since it is not a try, there cannot be goaltending. It would be treated no different than a pass. In the same sitch, if B1 happened to foul A1, it would not be considered a shooting foul either.

I think in your case, it was a legal try by A at A's basket, so yes, A can also be called for goaltending.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1