The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 19, 2005, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Does the scorer have the authority . . . ?

There's a question from last year's IAABO refresher exam I'd like to hear the answer to, #20.

"The administering official erroneously states two free throws instead of a one and one. A1 misses the first and makes the second. B1 inbounds the ball to B2, who is advancing the ball up the court when the scorer recognizes the error. The scorer sounds the horn to alert the official. Official stops the game to confer with the scorer. Does the scorer have the authority to sound the horn at this time?"


Case book play 2.11.3.

The scorer should wait until the ball is dead before signalling. The case play also tells you when the official should stop play too.

Thanks. That seems like the right reference. As Mark Dexter points out, the scorer may not be on top of this . . . and if s/he waits for the ball to become dead and fails to realize that that means when it goes through the basket . . . the window to correct could easily close. If the horn sounds and the ball blown dead . . . perhaps not the worst possible result.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1