The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional foul on the jump ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22658-intentional-foul-jump-ball.html)

RefLarry Sat Oct 15, 2005 08:39pm

...my last rare-situation IAABO question of the day...#57. While the ball is in the air on a jump ball to start the game,A-2 intentionally fouls B-2. Official instructs the scorer to set the arrow toward team A's basket when the ball is at the dispoal of B-2 for the first free throw. Is the official correct?


Rule 4.Section 3 ?

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 15, 2005 09:10pm

Case book play6.4.1SitE(c)

RefLarry Sat Oct 15, 2005 09:17pm

6.4.3 The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends.

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 15, 2005 09:24pm

Larry, did you read the case book play that I cited? It's the <b>exact</b> play described in your question.

RefLarry Sat Oct 15, 2005 09:26pm

Sorry.I do not have the new case book yet. I have 2003-2004 only.

Thank you for the reply.

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 15, 2005 09:35pm

Larry, fyi....

Casebook play 6.4.1SitE(c): During the jump ball to start the game,after the ball is tossed A1 intentionally fouls B1. When is the possession arrow set?
RULING: The arrow is pointed in the direction of A's basket when a player of B has the ball or it is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in following the free throws.

Hope that helps, podner.

You really should get new books if you don't already have them. Makes studying and writing exams a heckuva lot easier.

BktBallRef Sat Oct 15, 2005 10:50pm

Larry, have you been able to answer any of these by yourself? :D

assignmentmaker Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Larry, fyi....

Casebook play 6.4.1SitE(c): During the jump ball to start the game,after the ball is tossed A1 intentionally fouls B1. When is the possession arrow set?
RULING: The arrow is pointed in the direction of A's basket when a player of B has the ball or it is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in following the free throws.


Larry, you might reason that the arrow is set when it is because that's the first moment that control is established - the free thrower is has player control holding a live ball inbounds, and thus there is team control . . .

Camron Rust Sun Oct 16, 2005 01:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Larry, fyi....

Casebook play 6.4.1SitE(c): During the jump ball to start the game,after the ball is tossed A1 intentionally fouls B1. When is the possession arrow set?
RULING: The arrow is pointed in the direction of A's basket when a player of B has the ball or it is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in following the free throws.


Larry, you might reason that the arrow is set when it is because that's the first moment that control is established - the free thrower is has player control holding a live ball inbounds, and thus there is team control . . .

And what, may I ask, does the free thrower having player control have to do with this case? The arrow is not set when the free thrower has the ball and may not even be set towards A at all. It is set on the throwin that follows the FT(s). If there is another rules infraction before the throwin to start the game (or overtime), that infraction will determine the arrow. For example, B2 fouls A2 while B1 is shooting the FT. A will get the gall OOB for the foul against B and B will get the arrow.

assignmentmaker Sun Oct 16, 2005 02:44am

Braincramp
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Larry, fyi....

Casebook play 6.4.1SitE(c): During the jump ball to start the game,after the ball is tossed A1 intentionally fouls B1. When is the possession arrow set?
RULING: The arrow is pointed in the direction of A's basket when a player of B has the ball or it is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in following the free throws.


Larry, you might reason that the arrow is set when it is because that's the first moment that control is established - the free thrower is has player control holding a live ball inbounds, and thus there is team control . . .

And what, may I ask, does the free thrower having player control have to do with this case? The arrow is not set when the free thrower has the ball and may not even be set towards A at all. It is set on the throwin that follows the FT(s). If there is another rules infraction before the throwin to start the game (or overtime), that infraction will determine the arrow. For example, B2 fouls A2 while B1 is shooting the FT. A will get the gall OOB for the foul against B and B will get the arrow.

You're correct. Thanks.

ChuckElias Sun Oct 16, 2005 07:43am

It's confusing to a lot of people, but it's actually pretty simple. If you shoot FTs before the arrow has been set, then the arrow is initially set when:

1) The ball is at the inbounder's disposal following the FTs for a non-common foul; OR

2) The ball is at the free thrower's disposal for the FTs for a common foul.

That's all there is to it. If they're bonus FTs, set the arrow when the shooter gets the ball. If they're technical or intentional FTs, then set the arrow when the inbounder gets the ball.

RefLarry Sun Oct 16, 2005 09:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Larry, have you been able to answer any of these by yourself? :D
I've answered all of these by myself. Whether my answers are correct or not remains to be seen.:D I'll receive my 2004-2005 book when my board meets.

Jurassic Referee Sun Oct 16, 2005 09:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Larry, have you been able to answer any of these by yourself? :D
I've answered all of these by myself. Whether my answers are correct or not remains to be seen.:D I'll receive my <font color = red>2004-2005 book</font> when my board meets.

Um....don't you think that, for officiating purposes, it might actually be better if you received your <b>2005-2006</b> book. :)

assignmentmaker Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:30am

As a generality . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
It's confusing to a lot of people, but it's actually pretty simple. If you shoot FTs before the arrow has been set, then the arrow is initially set when:

1) The ball is at the inbounder's disposal following the FTs for a non-common foul; OR

2) The ball is at the free thrower's disposal for the FTs for a common foul.

That's all there is to it. If they're bonus FTs, set the arrow when the shooter gets the ball. If they're technical or intentional FTs, then set the arrow when the inbounder gets the ball.

As a generality set the arrow at the last possible moment at the last point the ball becomes alive before the clock may start, yes?

ChuckElias Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:56am

Re: As a generality . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
As a generality set the arrow at the last possible moment at the last point the ball becomes alive before the clock may start, yes?
No, b/c if you're shooting 2 FTs for the bonus (opponent's 10th foul), you still set the arrow when you give the ball to the shooter for the first of the two FTs, even tho the clock won't start until after the second.

The rule is: If they're bonus FTs, set the arrow when the shooter gets the ball. If they're technical or intentional FTs, then set the arrow when the inbounder gets the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1