![]() |
|
|||
What kind of question is this? Will someone explain why this is supposed to make sense? Please cite Rule.
It is a technical foul if thrower A1 delays returning to the court after being out of bounds for the throw-in. Do we care if team A plays actively with four players until A1 decides when he/she decides to come on the court after their throw-in? I certainly would understand if A1 just went to the locker room or into the stands...for reason for a technical for delay.....but this situation doesn't apply, does it? I believe the answer is FALSE. Agree?
__________________
"All our calls are good calls...." "...Some of them are better than others!" ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
The question is on the test to be sure that officials understand that the rule change regarding leaving the court does not affect this play (that is, this play has the same ruling as it had last year). |
|
|||
Quote:
I'll review!
__________________
"All our calls are good calls...." "...Some of them are better than others!" ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
The violation now is for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason.That used to be a T. The technical foul was and is for delaying your return after legally being OOB. If you take a look at last years R10-3-3, they took the "leaving the court for an unauthorized reason" part out of the rule and made it a violation, but they left the "delay returning after being OOB legally" part in R10-3-3 unchanged as a T. Iow, they separated the 2 different situations in last year's R10-3-3, moved one of them to R9-3-2 and changed the penalty to a violation--and left the other part in the altered new R10-3-3 as a T. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 13th, 2005 at 09:33 PM] |
|
|||
rule comes from the NBA plays
Quote:
I believe there was a play several teams used to run that would gain a benefit from this player staying OOB, but I don't remember the specifics. And then maybe I'm just dreaming? Anyone else remember the play? Thanks David |
|
|||
Re: rule comes from the NBA plays
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: rule comes from the NBA plays
Quote:
Thanks David |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|