The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2001, 09:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs up Yupper!

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
As mick stated, you're correct about this play. However, to say that there is "no back court violation on a throw in period," is incorrect.

In your play, team control was established when A1 caught the ball. But the exception to the rule allows an airborne player with FC status to land in the BC.

Had she caught the ball and then passed it to a teammate in the BC prior to landing in the BC, it would be a violation.

Had she caught the ball with the right foot in the FC, the left foot not touching the floor, caught the ball and then stepped into the BC, it would be a violation.

So, just because there is a throw-in, doesn't mean that a BC violation can't occur.

Good point, Tony.

mick

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1