The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2000, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1
Question

Some friends and I have been debating this question for some time. We know that catching a pass from yourself, that no one else has touched, is a violation and thus a turnover. However, the debate is over what happens when you catch an airball that you shot and has not been touched by another player. Does the same rule apply?

I couldn't find the answer anywhere else. Any help in clearing this up is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2000, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1
Post

case book page 31; 4.42B

No travel if the official feels it was a valid shot attempt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2000, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to Alaska Ref
Smile

shaky-Jay,

NF rule book, Basketball Rules Fundamentals, page 78 number 2.
"Neither a team nor any player is EVER in control during a Dead Ball, Jumb Ball, Throw-in, or when a ball is in flight during a try or tap for a goal".
If you as a referee determine that it was a SHOT (air ball) then the shooter can be the first to catch or touch the ball. Legal Play!

------------------
Don
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1