![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			Some friends and I have been debating this question for some time. We know that catching a pass from yourself, that no one else has touched, is a violation and thus a turnover.  However, the debate is over what happens when you catch an airball that you shot and has not been touched by another player.  Does the same rule apply?   
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I couldn't find the answer anywhere else. Any help in clearing this up is greatly appreciated.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			shaky-Jay, 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	NF rule book, Basketball Rules Fundamentals, page 78 number 2. "Neither a team nor any player is EVER in control during a Dead Ball, Jumb Ball, Throw-in, or when a ball is in flight during a try or tap for a goal". If you as a referee determine that it was a SHOT (air ball) then the shooter can be the first to catch or touch the ball. Legal Play! ------------------ Don  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |