The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player OOB? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22465-player-oob.html)

ChuckElias Wed Oct 05, 2005 08:11am

Player A1, who is holding a live ball inbounds, touches a coach or official who is standing OOB. Legal? Violation?

(I know I'm recycling, but I thought it was worth asking again.)

jritchie Wed Oct 05, 2005 09:18am

oob
 
should be violation oob right?? rule 7-1 player out of bounds when touches the floor or any other person or any object outside the boundary... am i missing something

M&M Guy Wed Oct 05, 2005 09:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Player A1, who is holding a live ball inbounds, touches a coach or official who is standing OOB. Legal? Violation?

(I know I'm recycling, but I thought it was worth asking again.)

This is one I actually know. However, in a small way I disagree with the casebook. It says specifically people are not considered objects, and to be considered OOB the ball or player must touch the floor or some object. So, therefore as long as the touching was inadvertant and there is no advantage gained, there is no violation.

But, I've always considered coaches objects... :D

mick Wed Oct 05, 2005 09:47am

Re: oob
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
should be violation oob right?? rule 7-1 player out of bounds when touches the floor or any other person or any object outside the boundary... <U>am i missing something</U>
Yes.

mick Wed Oct 05, 2005 09:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Player A1, who is holding a live ball inbounds, touches a coach or official who is standing OOB. Legal? Violation?

(I know I'm recycling, but I thought it was worth asking again.)

This is one I actually know. However, in a small way I disagree with the casebook. It says specifically people are not considered objects, and to be considered OOB the ball or player must touch the floor or some object. So, therefore as long as the touching was inadvertant and there is no advantage gained, there is no violation.

But, I've always considered coaches objects... :D

With a little more work, they may not object as much.

jritchie Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:01am

oops!!!!
 
guess i shouldn't combine art 1 and 2... 2 is for the ball touching a person...1 is for player touching OBJECT...so it is legal because people are not considered objects...Like mick said!!

bob jenkins Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Player A1, who is holding a live ball inbounds, touches a coach or official who is standing OOB. Legal? Violation?

(I know I'm recycling, but I thought it was worth asking again.)

Didn't this just change in the past year or two?


mick Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Player A1, who is holding a live ball inbounds, touches a coach or official who is standing OOB. Legal? Violation?

(I know I'm recycling, but I thought it was worth asking again.)

Didn't this just change in the past year or two?


It was clarified something like:
<LI>2003-04 any object other than player
<LI>2004-05 any object other than player, photographer, coach, official; ...people are not objects.

M&M Guy Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
...people are not objects.
Don't tell my wife this; I keep telling her she's the object of my affection... :D

ChuckElias Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Didn't this just change in the past year or two?
Yes. I was looking through old threads and found this one, started by JR last year, right around this time: http://officialforum.com/thread/16181

mdray Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:20pm

as a matter of fact, Referee Magazine had the wrong answer to this exact sitch in their "Test Yourself" section in the August issue; haven't seen a correction from them yet


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1