
Sun Oct 02, 2005, 08:00pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
A couple weeks ago, we discussed this play. . .
A1 scores. While B1 is holding the ball OOB for the throw-in, B2 sets a screen very close to the endline. B3 runs OOB on the endline and goes around B2's screen, coming back inbounds on the other side of B2.
Is this a violation based on this year's rule change? We discussed it here: http://officialforum.com/thread/22209
I said yes. But at the MA interpreter's meeting this afternoon, I was outvoted. A couple people agreed with me, but the majority sided with JR. The thought was basically that since B3 is allowed to be OOB, we can't assume that he's doing anything illegal.
So what about a defender who goes OOB to go around a screen? It's an immediate violation and reset of the shot clock. Among ourselves, we sort of agreed that a good official wouldn't notice the defender being OOB if the offense was about to score or was going to have an open shot. In other words, a good official will not call the violation if it doesn't interfere with the offense's play.
|
Chuck,
Thanks for going back to this subject. It really cleared the air for me on this one. The way I understand it, along as a teammates is administering a throw-in it is legal. Once, the ball is within the confines of the boundary line and any player goes OOB it is a violation.
__________________
truerookie
|