The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Elbows Rule Redux (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22346-elbows-rule-redux.html)

IREFU2 Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?

If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.

Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.


How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. <font color = red>If technical, it involves dead-ball contact</font> or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.



See the words outlined in red in <b>your</b> rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be <b>dead ball</b> contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.

I know what that rules states, I can read, what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant. Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.

ChuckElias Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?

<font color = red>If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also</font> I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.

Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.


How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. <font color = red>If technical, it involves dead-ball contact</font> or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

<font color = red>dIt could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation</font>. I guess you would have to be in the situation.



See the words outlined in red in <b>your</b> rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be <b>dead ball</b> contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.

I know what that rules states, I can read, what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant. Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.

No, you were saying that it could be a flagrant <b>technical</b> foul. It can't be a technical, by rule. If there's live-ball contact, you can't call a technical foul. It has to be a <b>personal</b> foul of some type.

If a player swings an elbow during a live ball and misses, it's a violation. If a player swings an elbow and contacts an opponent during a live ball, then it's a personal foul of some type- your choice.

IREFU2 Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.

Thanks for the clarification on this matter.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.

It's true, it's true....

ChuckElias Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant.
Agreed. But that has nothing to do with JR's point. See my post directly above this one.

Quote:

Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
Agreed again! :) So toss the kid. But you're missing something. Your choices aren't limited to T or violation. See my first post in this thread.

IREFU2 Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:56am

Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant.
Agreed. But that has nothing to do with JR's point. See my post directly above this one.

Quote:

Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
Agreed again! :) So toss the kid. But you're missing something. Your choices aren't limited to T or violation. See my first post in this thread.

Thanks for the clarification again!

ChuckElias Thu Sep 29, 2005 09:25am

Re: Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Thanks for the clarification again!
I think I over-clarified!! But the posts came so closely together, that I didn't realize you'd already responded to my first one. Sorry!

IREFU2 Thu Sep 29, 2005 09:26am

Re: Re: Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Thanks for the clarification again!
I think I over-clarified!! But the posts came so closely together, that I didn't realize you'd already responded to my first one. Sorry!

No problem, we are all here to help "clarify" each others post. The thing is to get the call right!

assignmentmaker Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:49am

Jurassic is correct
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?

If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.

Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.


How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. <font color = red>If technical, it involves dead-ball contact</font> or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.



See the words outlined in red in <b>your</b> rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be <b>dead ball</b> contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.

Rule 4-19-5(c) sez a technical foul is an intentional or flagrant <b>contact</b> foul while the ball is <b>dead</b>. If the contact occurs during a <b>live</b> ball, it must be a personal foul as per R4-19-1.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 29th, 2005 at 09:42 AM]

Ever try to flowchart this stuff? It can be done. It's way less ponderous than reading of a list of definitions, trying to find a match.

ChuckElias Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:59am

Re: Jurassic is correct
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Ever try to flowchart this stuff?
What stuff? The posts and replies?

If you're talking about flow-charting the options for whether to call a violation or foul, why bother? I gave you the 3 options in my first post.

IREFU2 Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:00am

Re: Re: Jurassic is correct
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Ever try to flowchart this stuff?
What stuff? The posts and replies?

If you're talking about flow-charting the options for whether to call a violation or foul, why bother? I gave you the 3 options in my first post.

I gues flow charting Section 19, I may try that.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?

If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.

Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.

I have a reference (numbers may be off...from 03-04 book):

4-18 FIGHTING
Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur <FONT COLOR=BLUE>when the ball is dead or live</FONT>. Fighting includes, but is not limited to combative acts such as:
ART. 1 . . . An <FONT COLOR=BLUE>attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made</FONT>.

with

10-3 <FONT COLOR=BLUE>PLAYER TECHNICAL</FONT>
A player shall not:
ART. 10 . . . <FONT COLOR=BLUE>Be charged with fighting</FONT>.

icallfouls Thu Sep 29, 2005 02:23pm

A couple of experiences:

I had this happen in a collge game last year. The two players going for the rebound had been working hard against each other for the first several minutes of the second half. Nothing outside the lines, just bigs being bigs. Anyway, the defensive player gets the rebound, looks back and, in my opinion, measures the other player and swings an elbow that connects with the players throat. The player is taken off their feet by the contact. TWEET! I had my choice (intentional/flagrant). My call was flagrant based on the entire result of the act. No one even thought twice about it.

In another game, before the change in penalties included a violation, a player was being tightly defended when the offense made contact, nothing severe, but surely a call (PC)needed to be made to reinforce that swinging elbows is not something that will continue. Again, no one took issue with the call and the rest of the game went off without difficulty.

Not all situations are exactly the same, but having seen the plays in their entirety certainly makes all the difference in the call that you make.

ChuckElias Thu Sep 29, 2005 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
4-18 FIGHTING
Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur <FONT COLOR=BLUE>when the ball is dead or live</FONT>.

10-3 <FONT COLOR=BLUE>PLAYER TECHNICAL</FONT>
A player shall not:
ART. 10 . . . <FONT COLOR=BLUE>Be charged with fighting</FONT>.

We've had this discussion before, Camron. I was totally on your side on this. But I seem to remember that there was an argument on the other side that fighting could also be personal, instead of technical. Since that discussion, I've always considered live-ball fighting to be a personal foul; but now I can't remember exactly why. . . :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1