The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2005, 03:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by flaref0812


Situation 1: A1 is at the F/T line for the last F/T. He "throws" the ball but it richocets off the backboard and returns to him. I called a delay of game violation and awarded the ball to Team B.

Situation 2: Same as in Situation 1 except the ball "skips" off the front of the ring.

A1 questions my cal in situation 1. I explain the ball didn't hit the ring and therefore a delay. But I question my call in Situation 2.

Where in the rule or case book am I covered. I do know that Rule 9.1.4 speaks of the free thrower faking a try, but am unable to find anything else.

You're not covered under any rule to call a delay of game violation in #1. If the free throw doesn't touch the ring, it's simply a violation under rule 9-1-3. In #2, if the ball touches the ring, it's in play.

Welcome to the forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1