![]() |
Quote:
...no, they cannot. In Chuck's play A3 has the authority to be OOB. Period. If the rule was meant to be taken as you interpret it then A3 would be whistled for a violation as soon as he stepped OOB, since the wording you provided states: Quote:
|
Quote:
Iow, what rule sez that a teammate of the thrower can't go around a screen OOB during a non-designated spot throw-in? Doing so isn't an "unauthorized" reason. It's legal(authorized) under 9-2-12 for the teammate to be OOB. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 19th, 2005 at 04:41 PM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As I keep saying, A3 has the right to go OOB in your play. It's covered in the rules specifying the throw-in. Other things, such as elbow throwing and dropping an F bomb on you, are not specifically called out as being allowed in the throw-in provisions so they are covered by the rules concerning these other specific acts. Example: Some towns have a default speed limit of 25 MPH. However, if the sign on a particular street says 55 MPH I cannot be ticketed for breaking the 25 MPH law. Because I'm authorized to go 55 MPH by that sign. Analogous to your elbow throw, I am NOT authorized to drive drunk so I can be arrested for that. |
Exactly - what Chuck said.
|
Quote:
It's the same thing. Both speeds are authorized. Which authorization supersedes? In the MPH examples, it's explicit. In the OOB examples, I don't think it's so explicit. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Anyway, as much as I dislike squirrels (ever since one got into our basement when I was a kid caused a bunch of damage), I have to agree with Chuck. Going OOB to avoid a screen is the specific example given as to the violation, without any conditions, such as "except on a throw-in where more than one player is allowed OOB". But, I also agree that the logistics of when it should be called in this case present the problem. That's why when it comes to game time, and until Mary and her gang come up with a specific ruling on this example, I will give the benefit of the doubt to the player going OOB that they are part of the throw-in play. If it's obvious that all they're doing is avoiding the screen and they are not part of the throw-in, I'll call the violation and show the coach the Federation comments. It says it right there in black and white. (Oops, gotta be careful with that one...) |
Good thread, Chuck.
It took right off, didn't it? :) ...Oh, and let the player go outa bounds without Foxin' him, he may get that pass, it may be part of the play. We dunno for certain what his intentions are. mick |
Quote:
|
Quote:
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 19th, 2005 at 05:36 PM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. (To clarify) Is the ball inbounded from the location of the infraction, or the closest oob spot of the ball? |
Quote:
It's not, afaik it's just part of a press release. And I'm not adding anything that isn't already in that release, iow "leaving the court for an unauthorized reason". Apparently you're claiming somehow A3 going OOB in Chuck's play is somehow not "authorized". I'm claiming it is. |
We all agree, maybe, that, under 7-5-7
We all agree, maybe, that, under 7-5-7 a teammate of the thrower-inner, after a made basket, may be out of bounds.
But what, if anything, is authorized, or prohibited, about the circumstances of re-entry? In the case I suggested to you earlier, there is an imperative about re-entry in operation: "Though Shalt Come Directly Onto The Court." Yet, as I pointed out, a player could be unduly delayed in doing so if not allowed to step around an obstructionist defender. Is it anywhere elaborated that the player coming in, given the choice, must take the shorter (if only slightly so) path, however disadvantageous? I don't think so. Now imagine that defender B1 is guarding A1 and is moved over 1-player width, so that A2 in actually in front of A1, and the shorter path is now to step around teammate A2. Further, what if B1 is oriented so that a line drawn between his or her feet is perpendicular to the boundary line? Is this suddenly a foul, an illegal screen, or . . . is the matter moot before we even get to that, because of a violation? If there is a violation, is it a violation of: 1. of the throw-in, if the thrower-inner steps out the spot to either side in order to come inbounds BEFORE the ball has been touched on the court and the throw-in ends? 2. or, presuming the ball is touched in-bounds, of the requirement to come directly back inbounds after leaving the court for an authorized reason, as in "My momentum made me do it?" This stuff happens, and generally, nobody notices. You can win a lot of games with smart players. Historically, gaps in the rules, where unbridged by interpretation, provide advantages have been explored and exploited by coaches since coaches were invented (oh treacherous day). Neither the new rules nor any interpretation, addresses whether or not the obstruction of a A2 being on his/her chosen spot on the floor is a screen when the beneficiary is coming in from out of bounds. Powers not expressly given to the Federal government are reserved to the States, until fought over from 1861-1865. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm. |