The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2005, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Hartsy
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[Btw, hopefully everyone already knows that a player throwing the ball in can't be called for traveling.
Are you sure? One time I saw an official blow a whistle during a throw-in, then he used the traveling signal. (tic)
I saw the exact same thing in an NCAA game that I was watching last year. There was a "spot" violation on a designated spot throw-in and the official used the traveling signal instead when he called it. Right call--wrong signal. [/B]
I've seen several officials in our area use the travel signal as well, and I think that helps perpetuate the myth that you can travel during a throw-in. Isn't the proper signal just the open-palm? What else do other people do to communicate what actually happened? Does this fall in the same category as the free-throw rim violation, where some people tend to use the "swirlie" (or is it "swirly"?), instead of just the open palm?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1