The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Aug 26, 2005, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member

Need some veteran advice!!! This is my first year as a UHSAA Basketball referee. What are your suggestions to network successfully? Which associations would you join? Is County Rec ball out? How would you approach the Association President to ask for game assignments? Would you go directly to the State Arbitor to network? I've had a great deal of Rec, Intramural, and Specialty Tournamnet experience and want to go to the next level. Your advise may help me avoid the "un-neccessary" pitfalls of a newcomer. Thanks for your help in advance!!!!
Old Sat Aug 27, 2005, 01:30am
Official Forum Member

Welcome to High School ball in Utah!

There are several Utah officials that peruse this board. I'm a member of the Provo association, and if I mispeak about the details of another association, they'll surely correct me.

Along the Wasatch front there are three associations: North (Odgen area north to Logan), Salt Lake and Provo (covers Lehi south to Juab, east to Tabiona). You'll be expected to join one of these associations. There are a few other associations in the state, but you stated Wasatch Front, so I'll confine my answer to that area.

For sub-varsity ball, each of these associations has a single assigner for all of the high schools and jr. high schools in the area. There is a separate assigner for varsity along the Wasatch Front (actually Logan to nearly Richfield, I think).

If you've registered with the UHSAA, which I assume you've done, you'll get a packet in the mail in the coming months. It'll have info about association meetings: time, location, etc. There are generally a couple each month throughout the season. You'll be expected to attend.