The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Test questions, part 3 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21882-test-questions-part-3-a.html)

M&M Guy Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

#2 I agree with Camron. It's a violation, since the ball was fumbled. FC status is gained when it bounces in the FC. The first touch constitutes a change to BC status and thus a violation.

FED 2000-2001 Interps.

Situation 1: A1 is straddling the line after catching and possessing a pass from A2. A1 then funmbles the ball, so that the ball lands in A's frontcourt. A1 then regains possession of the ball (still straddling the division line). Ruling: Violation (ote: I summarized the ruling, and this IS NOT the play being discussed in this thread.)

Situation 2: (Note: This IS the play being discussed in this thread) Same situation as above, except A1 begins a dribble immediately upon fumbling the ball and retreats to his / her backcourt to avoid a defender. Ruling: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues.

So, am I reading this correctly, that the starting of the dribble "beats" the touch/posession and therefore the violation mentioned in Sitch 1? I would've guessed once the ball touches the front court, then touches the player, it would be a violation, even though that touch involves starting a dribble. If the player picks up the ball after the fumble, then starts a dribble, I can see that being a violation. What about this - say the player fumbles it, the ball touches the front court, then the ball hits the player's leg on the way up, and the player immediately starts a dribble? Would that be a violation? How does the start of the dribble happen before the touch?

Nevadaref Wed Sep 07, 2005 01:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
#1... Since it is the end of a period, can't the coach ask without being charged? I thought this rule only applied to the coach wanting to stop play during a live ball or some time during a quarter? It really doesn't make any sense to charge it when they would be going to their huddle anyway would it?
Above is the correct answer - isn't it? The quarter is over. The game is tied. The coach now has another time out (for the overtime period). But why would you even charge a timeout - the clock is stopped for the intermission between the 4th quarter and the overtime. Charge a technical foul! Holy cow! Have the referees got a date after the game or what? I suppose because they charged a time out and a Technical they will also consider the points scored on the T as part of the 4th so they won't have to work the overtime.

Tony, it's the rulez! The <b>only</b> time that a coach is allowed to go to the scoring table is if he wants to request a TO for a correctible error. Period! If he's there for any other reason, it's supposed to be an automatic "T". See rule 10-5-1(b). And if the coach does go to the table about a correctible error, you <b>have</b> to charge him with a TO if the error <b>wasn't</b> correctible. Rule 5-11EXCEPTION2.

Also check out case book play 10.5SitD:
<i>"The coach of team A leaves the bench area and goes to the table to seek information <b>other</b> than a correctible error: (a)during a time-out; or(b) during the intermission between the first and second quarters.
<b>RULING:</b> A technical foul is charged directly to the coach in both (a) and (b). If this information is required, it <b>must</b> be secured by a manager or statistician,etc, when the clock is stopped and the ball is dead. A coach is <b>not</b> permitted at the table for this purpose. To allow exceptions would open the door for exploitation and would result in situations which could not be enforced consistently"</i>.

Note that the time between the end of the fourth quarter and an OT period is also an "intermission" also, as per rule 5-7-1.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 1st, 2005 at 09:07 PM]

No, Tony, we're not slow, :) you're just not reading all of the rules. JR pointed out one, but there is another casebook play which is also pertinent to what you wrote.

You said, "The quarter is over. The game is tied. The coach now has another time out (for the overtime period)."
This is not true. The extra time-out is not available until the OT starts (ball becomes live). Check out 5.12.4 Situation B.

Of course, you are correct that the T is assessed to begin the OT, since the score was tied at the end of the 4th quarter. The free throws will not end the game, and the entire OT period will be played.

Just remember that intermissions in NFHS basketball are a specific length. You don't extend them just because a coach has a question. Also, whenever a coach wants to appeal a correctable error issue (or timing or AP arrow), he has to risk a TO, no exceptions!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1