The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 02, 2005, 11:48am
Official Forum Member

I'm new to this profession and I understand, at least in this area (Michigan), that the assignor only schedules for Freshman, JV and Varsity games. If this is the standard protocol in your areas, how do officials get assignments for your area middle school games? I'll probably get some freshman games but don't care if I do middle school as well. Anything that will get me experience.
Old Tue Aug 02, 2005, 11:59am
Do not give a damn!!

In my state you can get middle school games from anywhere and everywhere. Some are assigned by a HS/college assignor. Some are assigned by the ADs of the school. Some are assigned by one official who is not normally an assignor. Some are assigned through an association. Every way you can get a HS game, is not much different when it comes to picking up middle school games. The major difference is HS/college assignors usually do not have to go out and "hustle" for officials to work those games. Most middle school assignors have to let officials know they are even assigning these games. Most officials are not trying to work a lot of middle school games.

Peace
Old Tue Aug 02, 2005, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member

My chapter works for 5 different assignors. Two do boys varsity scheduling (one does A and AA, the other does AAA and AAAA games), 1 does girls varsity, 1 does middle school boys and girls, 1 does 5th and 6th grade rec leagues. Ask your fellow officials who the assignors are and contact them. They will give you an idea of what you need to do to get games from them.
Old Tue Aug 02, 2005, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member

Call (or email) the Middle School athletic office and ask who assigns the basketball officials. This is the best way, even for high schools if you aren't sure.
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Rizzo21