![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Why do I get the feeling that we might just be seeing a whole lot of usage of that phrase here in the future? ![]() It is not a T to cause the backboard to shake if it was during a legitimate attempt at blocking a shot. Shots are NEVER wiped out in these situations unless BI or goaltending is involved. There's a good explanation for you to read in case book play 10.3.5. Casebook Play 10.3.5 A1 tries for goal and (a)B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket or (b)B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage.A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is attempt to draw attention to the player, or as means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-7. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|