The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BI to win Camp Championship....or is it? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21045-bi-win-camp-championship.html)

Camron Rust Tue Jun 28, 2005 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
No, it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder.

Even when the grabbing is <b>not</b> done to prevent an injury? :confused:
Speaking in the context of basket interference only. [/B]
Huh :confused: ?? [/B][/QUOTE]

The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim.

canuckrefguy Tue Jun 28, 2005 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
3) While not quite the sample size that someome (cancuckref?) requested, I just asked 10 people -- all knew what a stanchion was.

[/B]
So........how long have you been working for Acme Sports Equipment? :D

canuckrefguy Tue Jun 28, 2005 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim.

Correct....again, my bad....I'm also curious about whether the T could/should have been called instead on this play.

bob jenkins Tue Jun 28, 2005 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim.

Correct....again, my bad....I'm also curious about whether the T could/should have been called instead on this play.

As i read the play, both the BI and the T should have been called.


rainmaker Tue Jun 28, 2005 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
No, it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder.

Even when the grabbing is <b>not</b> done to prevent an injury? :confused:
Speaking in the context of basket interference only.
Huh :confused: ?? [/B]
The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim. [/B][/QUOTE]

Camron -- The original answer that you gave to the question was that "it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder." This is simply not true. To make the statement true, you should have said either, "It's not BI to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder" or "It's always illegal to grab the goal regardless of where the ball is." To say it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder is misleading.

Camron Rust Wed Jun 29, 2005 01:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
No, it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder.

Even when the grabbing is <b>not</b> done to prevent an injury? :confused:
Speaking in the context of basket interference only.
Huh :confused: ??
The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim. [/B]
Camron -- The original answer that you gave to the question was that "it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder." This is simply not true. To make the statement true, you should have said either, "It's not BI to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder" or "It's always illegal to grab the goal regardless of where the ball is." To say it's not illegal to grab the goal while the ball is in the cylinder is misleading. [/B][/QUOTE]

You are correct...but you should also, by the same argument, not say "It's always illegal to grab the goal regardless of where the ball is." It IS sometimes legal to grab the goal for safety (it may be BI in some cases).

Given that the context was clearly a discussion of BI, the statement is valid...in context. Out of context, it is incorrect.

tmp44 Wed Jun 29, 2005 07:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
The conversation was about BI. Canuk said: "is it not just flat-out illegal to grab the "goal" (which includes rim, mesh and the flange) while the ball is in the cylinder?"

I was directly responding to the question of BI. The answer is not. It's not flat out illegal to grab the goal.

A T is a seperate issue and has no dependancy on the location of the ball and is not an automatic call simply based on grabbing the rim.

Correct....again, my bad....I'm also curious about whether the T could/should have been called instead on this play.

As i read the play, both the BI and the T should have been called.


Bob,

Recall that the BI won the game for Team B, and the T would have been inconsequential. Common sense tells me to call the BI and get the he!! off the floor as soon as you can, since you're probably going to have one pissed off coach coming at ya. In theory, the T could be called, but would they be shot? I tend to think not since the FTs would have no bearing on the end of the game. IMO, if the FTs aren't going to be shot, why go through the trouble of calling the T? BI wins the game, game over. Get in, Get out, Get done.

26 Year Gap Wed Jun 29, 2005 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
I hope you're not suggesting that I'm some kind of dope for not knowing what "Stanchion" is. Webster defines it as "upright bar, post, or support". Which leads me to ask, why not just use one of those words?
Probably because support could mean anything, even though that's what a stanchion is. But a support could also be the pipes that hold a goal from above or from the wall. A stanchion best describes it.

Here endeth the English lesson. :)

Around here, a stanchion is what is in the cow barn holding each animal in its own stall.

ChuckElias Wed Jun 29, 2005 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tmp44
Recall that the BI won the game for Team B, and the T would have been inconsequential.
Except that you penalize infractions in the order in which they occur. . .

Mark Dexter Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by tmp44
Recall that the BI won the game for Team B, and the T would have been inconsequential.
Except that you penalize infractions in the order in which they occur. . .

Chuck, are you suggesting what I think you're suggesting?

Team A down 1 point, B1 grasps the rim, causing it to shake, and causing BI . . .

Any team A player shoots FT's.
If neither is good, award 2 points for BI - team A wins by 1.
If one shot is good, award 2 points for BI - team A wins by 2.
If both shots are good, then what do you do? I would assume, by your read, you award 2 points for the BI - team A wins by 3.

I have to disagree with this for two reasons. First of all, 8-7 states that the penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

More importantly, 5-6-3 (Exception) states that free throws at the end of a game are not attempted unless they would affect the outcome. The BI automatically puts team A up by 1, so the free throws can have no effect on the game.

ChuckElias Sat Jul 02, 2005 09:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Chuck, are you suggesting what I think you're suggesting?

Nope. :) Just stirring the pot so that someone will point out that:

Quote:

More importantly, 5-6-3 (Exception) states that free throws at the end of a game are not attempted unless they would affect the outcome. The BI automatically puts team A up by 1, so the free throws can have no effect on the game.
Thanks for not making me look up the citation. ;)

Mark Dexter Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Thanks for not making me look up the citation. ;)
You no-good, sneaky, rotten squirrel! :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1