The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clinic II (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20823-clinic-ii.html)

tjones1 Sat Jun 11, 2005 08:55pm

Attended another clinic today. As stated before, I wasn't real happy with my floor time earlier in the week. So I went to this one to get some additional floor time. Got some good ideas and also learned a new rule (from a coach). :D

If Team A is in the front court and Team B tips the ball, and then Team A re-tips the ball into the backcourt and is the first to touch it, it is not a violation. ;)

All in all, I was happy with my floor time today. Refnrev, wish you could have made it, I haven't seen you since the beginning of last year's season.

Mark Padgett Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Got some good ideas and also learned a new rule (from a coach). :D

If Team A is in the front court and Team B tips the ball, and then Team A re-tips the ball into the backcourt and is the first to touch it, it is not a violation. ;)


That rule only applies if A1 caught his own shot with just one foot inbounds after going OOB and taking repeated shots in the lane for more than three seconds total.

refTN Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:26am

If Team A is in the front court and Team B tips the ball, and then Team A re-tips the ball into the backcourt and is the first to touch it, it is not a violation. ;)

can I have an explanation, because the only time that I understand this could happen and not have a violation is on an attempted shot


brandan89 Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:42am

Thats pretty interesting. Today at clinic I learned that in order to have a jump ball, atleast 2 players from each color must have their hands on the ball. Geesh, I wish I would have known this before.

tjones1 Sun Jun 12, 2005 02:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
If Team A is in the front court and Team B tips the ball, and then Team A re-tips the ball into the backcourt and is the first to touch it, it is not a violation. ;)

can I have an explanation, because the only time that I understand this could happen and not have a violation is on an attempted shot


You've got it. I was being funny with saying it wasn't a violation. A coach told me I blew the call whenever I called a violation for that play (no shot taken). He then added that I better know these things before I go out onto the court. :confused:

ChrisSportsFan Sun Jun 12, 2005 07:18am

Rev and TJones, we've got some teams in Edwardsville this weekend from your neck of the woods. Yesterday I worked Mount Vernon, Carbondale and I think one more from up there that I can't recall right now. That Carbondale team should be good this year.

tjones1 Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Rev and TJones, we've got some teams in Edwardsville this weekend from your neck of the woods. Yesterday I worked Mount Vernon, Carbondale and I think one more from up there that I can't recall right now. That Carbondale team should be good this year.
I worked Mount Vernon on Tuesday at T-Town.

ChrisSportsFan Sun Jun 12, 2005 01:53pm

I'm trying to remember the coach, he was the big guy with messy hair? If I've got the right team, that guy was begging for calls from before the tip. He came over and told us that "these 2 teams are only about 10 miles "afart" from each other so call it close". I just cracked up when he said that they're only 10 mile "afart".
Carbondale won by 15.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1