The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   confused by the traveling rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20424-confused-traveling-rule.html)

ysong Thu May 19, 2005 12:52pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

43-2-a2 describes <EM>a single</EM> landing...one foot followed by the other. It doesn't describe two landings: landing, jumping and landing again.
Exactly!

ChuckElias Thu May 19, 2005 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Thanks, rainmaker. You are absolutely right, travel rule does not apply when no dribbling is going on.
Huh?!?! :confused: The traveling rule only applies when there's no dribbling going on. It's not possible to travel when you're dribbling; so the travel rules only kick in when a player is NOT dribbling.

ysong Thu May 19, 2005 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Thanks, rainmaker. You are absolutely right, travel rule does not apply when no dribbling is going on.
Huh?!?! :confused: The traveling rule only applies when there's no dribbling going on. It's not possible to travel when you're dribbling; so the travel rules only kick in when a player is NOT dribbling.

Got your attention again. ;)

That is why I say "the harder I try to get myself out of a confusion, the deeper I am in it.".

Why no comments from you on my "real" misconceptions?

Thanks.



ysong Thu May 19, 2005 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Thanks, rainmaker. You are absolutely right, travel rule does not apply when no dribbling is going on.
Huh?!?! :confused: The traveling rule only applies when there's no dribbling going on. It's not possible to travel when you're dribbling; so the travel rules only kick in when a player is NOT dribbling.

How come you can not understand no word out of my mouth? :D

ChuckElias Thu May 19, 2005 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Huh?!?! :confused: The traveling rule only applies when there's no dribbling going on. It's not possible to travel when you're dribbling; so the travel rules only kick in when a player is NOT dribbling.
Why no comments from you on my "real" misconceptions?

I thought I just gave you one. ;)

bob jenkins Thu May 19, 2005 01:29pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

43-2-a2 describes <EM>a single</EM> landing...one foot followed by the other. It doesn't describe two landings: landing, jumping and landing again.
Exactly!
Camron is using "jump" differently than you are using it.

Camron is describing one type of jump stop -- land on one foot, jump, then land on both feet. That's described elsewhere in the rule.

You're describing a "normal" landing -- and that can be done with the first foot on the floor or with the first foot leaving the floor and then the second foot landing on the floor.

ysong Thu May 19, 2005 01:46pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Now that a pivot foot is established, there are rules about what can happen.
I percieve the whole purpose of establishing a pivot foot is to allow a player to pivot, then what is the point to establish a pivot foot when that foot is no longer allowed to be pivoted on?

That is another reason why I feel the logic is twisted if 43-4-2-a(2) allows a "jump".


ysong Thu May 19, 2005 01:48pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

43-2-a2 describes <EM>a single</EM> landing...one foot followed by the other. It doesn't describe two landings: landing, jumping and landing again.
Exactly!
Camron is using "jump" differently than you are using it.

Camron is describing one type of jump stop -- land on one foot, jump, then land on both feet. That's described elsewhere in the rule.
No he isn't. Ask him. :)

deecee Thu May 19, 2005 01:59pm

just
 
take a really long blink when you think there will be a travelling violation so you dont see it

if you dont see it you cannot call it

ysong Thu May 19, 2005 02:00pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

43-2-a2 describes <EM>a single</EM> landing...one foot followed by the other. It doesn't describe two landings: landing, jumping and landing again.
Exactly!
Camron is using "jump" differently than you are using it.

Camron is describing one type of jump stop -- land on one foot, jump, then land on both feet. That's described elsewhere in the rule.
No he isn't. Ask him. :)
Hmmm.... This is just a perfect example of how one sentence can have two opposite interpretations and both of them seem perfectly correct.

But the fact is, there can only be ONE correct interpretation.





ysong Thu May 19, 2005 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Huh?!?! :confused: The traveling rule only applies when there's no dribbling going on. It's not possible to travel when you're dribbling; so the travel rules only kick in when a player is NOT dribbling.
Why no comments from you on my "real" misconceptions?

I thought I just gave you one. ;)

Come on, Chuck. What makes you so sure about 43-2-a(2) allows a "jump"? I want to be convinced too.

Thanks.


ysong Thu May 19, 2005 02:21pm

Imagine the following 3 scenarios:

A. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then put his right foot down.

B. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then "jumps" and lands on his right foot only.

C. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then "jumps" and lands on both feet.

Which one should I call travel?


[Edited by ysong on May 19th, 2005 at 03:30 PM]

TigerBball Thu May 19, 2005 03:50pm

Would you give a T for taking a drink during a live ball situation?

In option B does the player pass or shoot after that right foot comes down and the left has lifted.

ysong Thu May 19, 2005 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TigerBball
Would you give a T for taking a drink during a live ball situation?

In option B does the player pass or shoot after that right foot comes down and the left has lifted.

The sequence after the drink is: left foot is lifted (player jumps off it), right foot down with ball still in hand. then the player waives to his mom and dad, while standing "single footed".


deecee Thu May 19, 2005 04:00pm

depends what the drink was
 
water yes - shot of Tequila to calm down the star player absolutly not...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1