![]() |
|
|||
Chuck,
Could you please post the quirky NCAA interp on when to use POI or the AP arrow for double fouls or double techs again. I recall that you pointed out some oddity in which the AP is used for one type but not the other. This came up in a discussion this past weekend since the NFHS is adding POI and I wanted to get it straight. |
|
|||
I'm not Chuck but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn last night, so....
All types double T's and simultaneous T's go to POI. All types double personals and simultaneous personal go to team in control with no shot clock reset. If no team control then use the arrow and reset the shot clock regardless of who gets the ball (maybe this is your 'quirk'?). No FTs in any of these.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
But if you have double T's while a try is in flight and the try is successful, you award the ball to the team that did not score the points, since at the POI, that team was going to receive the ball.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW why doesn't the NCAA just go POI for double personal fouls too? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
However, if you give it to the team in control, then it's very easy to determine who gets the ball. Team A still had team control, so they get the ball. No arrow needed.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
While we're at it then, Fed should delete the rule that states only an "American" flag can be worn.
International teams would be T'd up technically speaking (no pun intended) if they were to put their own country's flag on their uniforms! I'd hope that nobody would lack the common sense to T them up for it though. Same with your rules, too. |
|
|||
Quote:
Just sayin'.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
PENALTY FOR DOUBLE FOULS CHANGED TO POINT OF INTERRUPTION (7-5-9, 4-36): The penalty for double personal, double technical and simultaneous fouls has been changed from an alternating-possession throw-in to resuming play from the point of interruption. A new definition of point of interruption has also been added to the rules book. If the point of interruption cannot be determined e.g., unsuccessful try in flight, the alternating-possession arrow will be used.
It appears that the NFHS has chosen to differ from the NCAA here. They have done what I asked earlier in this thread and just gone to POI for double personal fouls. The NCAA goes back to the team in control without a reset of the shot clock. Therefore, if this comment accurately reflects the wording of the actual new rule, when there is a double personal foul during a try for goal which is successful, we will NOT use the AP arrow. The team that was to receive the throw-in for being scored upon will still receive the ball. If the try is unsuccessful, the AP arrow is used. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
"A new definition of point of interruption has also been added to the rules book. If the point of interruption cannot be determined e.g., unsuccessful try in flight, the alternating-possession arrow will be used."
We'll have to see exactly how the NFHS defines POI, but I think this should answer the "loose ball" question. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you have something in the name of the team that can obscure the number, these rules keep that from happening. If a team is called the Angels and has a halo around the A, that name has to go above the number, so the halo does not obscure the number. If a team is called the Devils and a little forked tail comes from the S, the name must be below the number for the same reason. It may be a bit nit-picky, but it does make sense and is completely consistent, because it deals with decorations that go in seperate directions. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|