The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong

I believe you have no problems with C, right? So what makes C a legal move?

Thanks.
Actually, I haven't weighed in on C before now.

Under NCAA rules, here are the legal actions when you catch the ball with both feet off the ground:

4-66. Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot.

It seems that your situation C falls under 4-66.3.a.2, so it's legal. Note that your sitation D doesn't fall under any of these, which is why it's not legal.
I believe 3.a.2 describes a "step", i,e, both feet touch the floor when the 2nd foot lands. It is not a jump.

But in C, it is a jump. so C does not fit 3.a.2.

I think the closest one is 3.a.3. When it says both feet MAY (not MUST) land simultaneously, it does not forbid landing with one foot only. (but the other foot can not land after that.)

If this theory is true, then both C and D are legal.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1